We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location; easy access to Fort Worth!”
Review of Cowtown RV Park

Cowtown RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aledo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cowtown RV Park
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two weeks at Cowtown RV in a motorhome with slide-outs. Overall, this is a large, well-run campground. It isn’t a “destination resort” but it makes an excellent “base of operations” if you want to stay in the Fort Worth area or want someplace to spend the night when traveling on I-20. We’ve stayed here before and we’ll stay here again.

Tip: If you’re driving west on I-20, to reach Cowtown take Exit 418 (Willow Park), loop under the Interstate and drive east on the one-way service road. Do NOT take Exit 420 (Aledo), regardless of what your GPS says, because you can’t get to Cowtown from that exit.

The pros are: (1) Cowtown has sites for RVs of all sizes. Most sites have concrete pads, but the longest pull-through sites are gravel. However, they are reasonably level, and all sites are easy in/easy out. We had plenty of room for our slide-outs and the car. (2) Free Cable TV, (3) The laundry areas are clean and there seem to be an adequate number of washers and dryers in each of the three laundry areas around the park. (4) Quick access to the grocery store, gas station and restaurants in Willow Park. (5) Easy access to I-20. Also, easy access to I-30 and I-820. From Cowtown, it’s about 15 minutes to TCU and 25 minutes to downtown Fort Worth. (6) We don’t travel with pets, but there are several dog runs around the park. (7) Propane is available and there is a small store. (8) Management and staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We didn’t use the restrooms/showers during our stay.

The cons are—and these wouldn’t be concerns for everyone: (1) Although there is free Wi-Fi throughout the park, during our stay the Wi-Fi was unreliable. Internet access was up-and-down frequently, and sometimes service was very, very slow. (2) The pool is seasonal and isn’t open for much of the year. (3) There is no on-site garbage pickup. However, there are trash cans around the park, and a centrally located dumpster.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed overnight about a week ago. We selected this park as we were transporting a family member's two dogs and this park appeared pet friendly from our Trailer Life Directory. I had also seen this park when I was in the Mansfield area a couple years back.

As mentioned we stayed one night and did not encounter the issues specified in other write-ups. The gentleman checked us is and went over the rules. Having been a campground host at four previous locations my take on it was the detail of going over the rules was because they might have had issues in the park previously and wanted to nip it in the butt early. He did not do it rudely just very thorough. We were escorted to our site and the young man that took us there was helpful.

I agree with internet being spotty but was not a game changer for me. It was nice to have place to walk the dogs, have bags available to pick up after them, and to have a space for them to run around a bit after being cooped up in an RV all day.

Having lived in the DFW area for a couple years, his campground is in a nice location..esp if you want to go to a good steakhouse in Weatherford off Old Fort Worth Highway!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rvtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We chose to stay at this RV park.because it was close to Fort Worth and we had a family member in the hospital there so we could be close to her! The manager was really nice at first when we were paying for the month but as soon as he got our money his true colors showed. He was very rude and hateful and talked to us like we were children. They claimed to be pet friendly but yet he did nothing but complain about our two tiny dogs. He would just glare at us everytime we saw him. The internet they claim to have doesn't work at all so you pay extra for internet you can't even use. We ended up leaving 2 weeks early because it was such a horrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jhicks7599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The owner of this place has nothing better to do then ride around on his golf cart nit picking over every little thing. He is rude and grumpy so don't let him fool, you he will come across real friendly as he is taking your money, then his true colors shine through. To have shade cost extra, so you pay more for a good tree, there are spaces that flood when it rains. They come across as pet friendly but the owner, again after taking your money, not friendly at all!!! We stay in a lot of parks with no problems, but, To sum it up. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TGooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at this park for a couple of months and there were pros and cons

Pros

Playground for kids
Store in the rv park
Maintenance was awesome
Fenced in dog area

Cons

Only the paved lots got shade and you had to pay extra
Serious flooding issues after rain
Fire ants
Sand box was a restroom for the cat's

Overall all a good place for a few days but not to long.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jds1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pros: the campground was clean and quiet. The dog park was nice. The location was close to Ft Worth activities.
Cons: the management was very rude, grumpy and controlling. I have never stayed in a park with so many rules. This was the most unfriendly campground we have ever stayed in. The lady at the desk needs an accounting course and lessons on how to treat guests. The Wifi was advertised as part of the package but it either did not work or worked so slow we could hardly use it. And, in the middle of our stay, they changed the password without notifying guests and then closed the office the next day so we could not gain access to Wifi for two of the 5 day stay. Cable tv was very fuzzy. Only one stool and shower worked in the bath house. Speed bumps were quite severe when pulling a camper across them. We travelled in a fifth wheel and stayed July 1 through July 6, 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buzzingbee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Clean and friendly . Close to Fort Worth. Staff were exceptionally helpful in finding shops, attractions and suggesting destinations. Lots of bird life , few bugs . Full hookups , free internet a great shop within a well laid out park

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cowtown RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowtown RV Park

Address: 7000 E Interstate 20, Aledo, TX 76008-3106
Region: United States > Texas > Aledo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aledo
Number of rooms: 300

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing