We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just need a little tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alice
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We travel a lot for business and have seen my fair share of bad hotels but this one was good. It could definitely use an update but the room was huge. Room was clean and didn't smell like some of the other reviews said. I would change the color of the walls it was so dark. My only real complaint would be people sitting outside in the trucks playing loud music and drinking all hours of the night. You have a room go inside and have your little party not bother everyone else trying to sleep. ( started at 9pm and didn't stop until 3am) over all a good stay. Would stay again if we come back for work.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a week . I got the weekly rate and it was really affordable . I will stay here if I need to come back to the town. Room service s were awesome , main thing is the breakfast. It was awesome.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank EBIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed there this week while attending a family funeral. It was the cheapest compared to others at $70 and the next available rates were at $130 and up. Hotels are rediculously overpriced in this area. I grew up in this neighborhood and 40-50 years ago this probably was a nice hotel but I don't understand why it hasn't been updated or even torn down to re-build. The industry is good in Alice due to Oil/Frocking Industry. I felt like I had stayed the night in Jail/the slammer/the joint. It was nasty. I know you get what you pay for but even at $55, a shelter might have been cleaner. The artwork was probably 50 years old and faded evenly to a graytone. The bed wasn't even a bed, it was a box spring and mattress on some an unpainted wood frame on the bottom. The pillows were so flat that it didn't even seem like I had a pillow. The A/C filter had so much dust in it and so glad it was cool enough outside that I didn't have to use the A/C. The tub had all kinds of cigarette burns even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. The base-boards had so much dirt on it and the walls have probably not been painted in years. Of course the sheetrock is so brittle the walls could likely fall apart at the touch of a paint brush. Come on Scottish Inn, get your act together and update this place while the potential for business is good.
The food buffet was ok. Coffee was good and fresh and the waitress was very nice courteous and in good spirits.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

For a non-smoking room, the bathtub was badly stained with cigarette burns. Eventually got accustomed to the stale odor in the room & heater smells. Floor did not feel clean, but no cockroaches seen. Beds were clean & comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fair; especially the menudo very good. Would have to say was worth the price, but will pay a little more for something nicer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HondoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

After overviewing the the facts. a mix of comfortable beds, clean rooms, 24hours service. and i a nice complamentery hot buffet breakfast i would have to say for the price that i paid it was more than worth it. The helpfull and friendly staff and the new supervisors really make the stay very accomadating. I strongly recommend kings inn\scottish inn as a place to experience. i give it 4 out of 5 stars

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank anselmobenavides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
13
Reviewed 14 May 2006

The most disgusting hotel I have ever been to. Rooms were dirty, towels dirty, and plenty of cockroaches. It was just awful. The employees were rude and abnoxious. Needless to say, we left immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alice
22.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Kingsville
Rodeway Inn Kingsville
#9 of 10 in Kingsville
19 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alice
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn - Alice
Hampton Inn - Alice
#1 of 8 in Alice
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alice
0.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.1 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 8 in Alice
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice

Address: 815 Highway 281 South, Alice, TX 78332
Region: United States > Texas > Alice
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alice
Price Range: £61 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice Hotel Alice
Kings Inn/Scottish Inn Alice Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing