We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BIG SURPRISE!”
Review of Big Ray's BBQ

Big Ray's BBQ
Ranked #41 of 225 Restaurants in Allen
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: This is a great little family owned business in Allen. Very nice owners and besides their great BBQ meats, they have some of the greatest sides and desserts!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a great little family owned business in Allen. Very nice owners and besides their great BBQ meats, they have some of the greatest sides and desserts!
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A BIG SURPRISE!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well, just don't know what to say except the Bar-B-Que was excellent! The sides were excellent of which is the reason I don't like Bar-B-Que places. But this one was different...the sides were really good. If you want really good Bar-B-Que...go to Big Rays for a nice surprise. I will make one additional comment. They could use a sprucing up on the inside. It's clean and all, it the decoration reminds me of the past owner who did Bar-B-Que in the building and they weren't all that good. So...if we could all ban together and start going to get some awesome Bar-B-Que, they could make an income where they could just do a little of their own touches and make it a real fun Bar-B-Que place to go. They say on their website it's a friendly place...well...it would have been nice if they were as friendly as stated. Maybe an off day, but a little more effort would have make it more special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyM5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is this the same Ray's?”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 11:00am on Sunday. No one was there, but it was early. First thing we noticed, it didn't smell like bbq, not even inside. It didn't smell like anything. Ordered a bit of several things: sausage, brisket, chicken, pork. We got macaroni, potatoes & beans. Not only was everything luke warm, it all needed salt at the minimum. ALL the meats were dry...like cooked yesterday dry. The sauce was cold, ok some restaurants serve it that way, but come on! The bread pudding everyone raves about was bread alright, but thats it. No sauce, no goodness. We just don't get it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PixieBelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just Don't Drive By... Stop and Enjoy Some Great Texas BBQ!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

There's no telling how many times we driven by Big Rays, but last Saturday, we stopped and I am I glad that we did. We've tried all the chain bbq places (note the lower case) around, but Big Rays is the real deal. It is a joint, but by far the best BBQ joint around! We picked up a pulled pork BBQ sandwich and a rib plate with sides - oh my simply wonderful - and the Staff didn't bat an eye when we asked for slaw over the top (the BBQ man did ask if we were from around Memphis :) ). The meat is perfection (and even more tasty when you add Big Rays' sauce), the sides are amazing and the service is the great and friendly. And do try the Bread Pudding. Big Rays is a Jewel and Great BBQ in the heart of downtown Allen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZAismy2ndHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Perfect Bar-be-que dinner!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I had some of the best pulled pork of my life tonight!! This was a great meal. The brisket was juicy and tender and the selection of sides was great. We also tried some sliced sausage which was just delicious. I will definately being going back again and again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

If you want a fancy atmosphere, then go somewhere else. But if want some really great BBQ, then Big Ray's is the place. The brisket is awesome, and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Ray's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing