We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, But Very Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2008

A very nice property. Room was very large, well appointed, comfortable, and clean. The main issue I had was noise. The highway was loud, too much space at the room door allowing hallway noise in, and even noise from the floor above. The free breakfast and internet are great. If the property had been built with proper sound insulation, it would be great.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday205, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2009

Dear Cinncitraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Feedback is always important to our success.

The next time you come to Allen area, please let us know and we will put you on the back side of the hotel where the noise is minimal.

Sincerely,
The Satff and Management at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 149 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel with my teenage daughters in order to go shopping at the nearby outlet mall. Overall, this is a nice, newer property that does many things right and is a very pleasant place to stay, but a few things keep it from being what it could be.

The first problem came with my reservation. As a Holiday Inn Priority Club member, I made my reservation on their web site and reserved a two-bedroom suite, described as having "one king bed, two queen beds, sleeper sofa, refrigerator and microwave". Of course I specified four guests. When I arrived, they had me booked into a regular king room with no sleeper sofa - in other words, one room that slept 2 people. I went to look at the room and knew it not only wasn't what I reserved, it wouldn't sleep all four of us unless my daughters slept on the floor! I went back to the desk (it was late), and fortunately another woman took over from the obviously inexperienced (and over-her-head) desk clerk who first insisted that that was the room I reserved. The other lady, the night manager perhaps, offered us a one-bedroom suite with a king and "queen" bed in a separate room and a sleeper sofa. I told her that I thought that would work, we just wanted a place to sleep at this point.

We went up to look at the room and it was nice enough, but the "bedroom" was very tiny and the "queen" bed was actually a double bed. In the main room where the king bed was, there was only one nightstand and bedside lamp and no clock radio, so my wife and I took the smaller bed, which had two nightstands, two lamps and a iPod-compatible clock radio. It slept ok, but was obviously not as nice as the king bed. There was no closet in the second room, but there was a wardrobe with hanging space in the main room. There were two (flat screen) TV's, one bathroom, a small fridge and no microwave. There was an A/C unit in both rooms, but they were both controlled by the same thermostat in the main room. A/C was powerful and effective, and fairly quiet, as was the whole room. Nice big desk with (wired) free internet access, and two phones (one on the desk, one next to the king bed - both in the same room - why?)

The room decor, as well as the overall ambiance of the hotel, was from the 30's and 40's, with many black-and-white photos of movie stars like Clark Gable and Marilyn Monroe. The dining area was done in dark wood paneling with some overstuffed leather couches and chairs and a fireplace, very nice, but it was closed and dark outside of breakfast hours. In the guest room, the furniture was dark wood and looked period (not modern). The bath had a wooden vanity with open shelves and a marble top and looked very elegant. The shower surround, although plastic, was a very convincing soapstone tile look, with a curved shower bar, which is nice. The shower head looked large, but the spray was more or less normal sized (and the water pressure, on the third floor, was *extremely* poor).

A few more gripes: Even though we had booked for four people, we only had three sets of towels. This was not a problem as not everyone showered every day, but it not a good sign customer-service-wise. The bathroom amenities provided looked very cheesy, not at all what you would expect from the decor, with the bottles labeled 'clean', 'smooth', 'soften' or something like that - no name brand at all. I pictured them getting refilled daily from a 55-gallon drum. There was only one small towel bar, for four people, not even a normal towel rack - doesn't make sense. There were places on the vanity that could easily accommodate small towel bars for hand towels, but nothing. Also, no towel ring on the wall. The hair dryer was hung from a hook on the wall with the cord sort of looped over it - looked like a dorm room. No night light or vent fan. Nice large mirror though, and the open shelves in the vanity were quite handy, especially three females(!) sharing a bath.

There was a free breakfast, which we tried once. There was a decent selection, with the usual cold cereal, toast and bagels, warm cinnamon rolls, coffee and juice. There was also a small steam table with sausage patties and scrambled eggs, but the staff had a hard time keeping up with demand and there were a lot of people standing around waiting for more to be brought out. Overall, it was fine if you weren't in a big hurry.

The location is quite good, right on Hwy-75 just north of Plano. Nearby restaurants within walking distance included IHOP, Bennigans and On the Border, with a grocery right around the corner in a large shopping area. There are dozens of other restaurants within a 5-mile radius (mostly south), and the outlet mall was only two exits to the north, so very convenient for our purposes.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you get the right price - it is clean, fairly new and reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman_Sooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

This Hotel exceeded our expectations. We were in town for a sports event and friends booked this hotel. We didn't expect much but when we arrived it was much better than any Holiday Inn Express we had stayed at previously. Large rooms, comfortable beds and the kids loved the large bathtubs. This hotel deserves a higher star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cobalt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Was in Allen meeting family for a pre-school year shopping trip.
Stayed in a single king room. Hotel is fairly new and had not worn off it's new hotel smell, so to speak.

Room was excellent - the bed was comfortable,and I had no issues at all with anything about it, save for the lack of a closet area to hang any clothes up. Might have been more of an issue if I was in town for business, rather then pleasure.

Love the hotel's motiff - had an elegant Hollywood sense to it, with portraits of Bogart and Hepburn in my room, and nice trim overall in the room. Didn't have an internet accessible laptop with me, but their office/business area had two good PCs with printers and a high speed connection that sutied me well.

Breakfast was free and decent. Multiple restaurauts to suit any fare were within easy walking distance. The flat screen HDTV and IPOD compatible alarm clock in the room were an excellent touch as well. Staff was attentive and friendly as well.

My only problem was that I thought I maybe paid a little too much on the room ( around 90 bucks), but you have a nearly brand new hotel, with excellent location and accessiblity, and some nice perks, so that nearly evens things out. Would stay again if in the area, though might consider other options in nearby areas if was in area on business.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BCC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las suites todas muy cómodas limpias y tranquilas creo que cualquiera puedes aceptar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luarajoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip_taranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Allen hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Dallas Allen
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Allen at The Village
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Dallas/Allen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dallas/Allen
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Allen
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dallas Allen at the John Q. Hammons Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center

Address: 205 Central Expy N, Allen, TX 75013-2629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Allen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Allen
#6 Family Hotel in Allen
#6 Business Hotel in Allen
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining jewel in the heart of Allen, Texas - The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers tradition, luxury and sophistication, all at an affordable price. The hotel's location is prime, near city of Dallas, Plano, Richardson, McKinney, Frisco and Fairview with companies such as Finisar, Experian, Raytheon, FSI, The Ballfields at Craig Ranch, Jack Henry all at its doorsteps. A brand new 1940's Hollywood themed hotel, decorated with luxurious marble, tile, and a unique style. This hotel adds all the amenities of today's business and leisure travellers. State-of-the-art fitness center, I-Home radio, 26 inch flat screen Dell TVs, complimentary wired and wireless Internet, refrigerator in every room, Simply Smart bedding and exclusive Holiday Inn Express Breakfast will make Holiday Inn Express your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Allen North - Event Center
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allen North - Event Hotel Allen
Holiday Inn Allen
Allen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Allen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing