We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty”
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nasty”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Cheap price for the location, so not worth the savings. Stained chair cushions, large places of chipped bathtub enamel, mold on bathtub enclosure. no sink stopper, exposed slab at entry door, luke warm water in the shower, no clock, no in room coffee pot, very bad continental breakfast. Exterior appearance of hotel is strickly cosmetic.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy07cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    16
    8
    13
See reviews for
14
14
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benson, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I travel a lot and at times have averaged over $1200 a month in hotel bills. This is one of the nastiest places I have ever stayed. Its worse than a place I stayed in Massachusetts with a sloping floor and mildew growing up the walls. I normally would have turned around and left as soon as I saw the room, but I was distracted by hunger so I walked in threw my gear down and went to the restaurant next door.
The room smelled like a truckers armpit (I know this because I was a trucker), the carpet was dirty, stained and matted down and the walls where covered with marks and scuffs. The bathroom floor had several cigarette burns, and I belive there was possibly feces smeared on the wall... I'm not kidding. If they vacumed, it was only down the middle of the room, the corners and edges had paint chips and dust on the carpet. When I got up in the morning I noticed the box spring or bottom mattress had numerous brown, reddish stains on the side.
The sheets appeared to be clean, as was the sink and toilet. I paid a total of $55 for the room, an outrageous price, given its condition. It is a disgusting place and they know it - they have a notice on the bottom of the receipt stating you have 15 minutes to determine if the room is not to your liking. I was so grossed out I seriously thought about leaving in the middle of the night to ride 250 miles back home. My memories of the neat little town of Alpine, Texas will forever be tainted by this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TombstoneRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alpine hotels

Midland
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I loved staying here, i don't know why the last two ppl are saying this is a bad place, maybe they're not talking about the Sunday House Inn. I came with two other friends, and we had a blast, and we were satisfied with the room. Front desk was very helpful and really nice. The breakfast was enjoyable. My friends and I were looking foward for a weekend of just relaxing and this motel was just right. I would definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetBackatme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The room was disgusting! Dirty room. The motel did not seem safe. Tape is around EVERY window in the motel. My door did not feature a security lock. It was one of those places where you are affraid to sleep in between the sheets. I was thankful to have packed an extra pair of flip flops so I could shower.
I feel that I would have felt safer had I slept in my car!
NEVER STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRSUgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Invariably it's the last place in Alpine with any reservations any time there's a big event.
There's a reason for that.

It's not in good repair. It's dirty. And the people who work there could care less.

And it's not cheap. We paid almost $90 a night.

So, if you're wondering whether to stay there, don't.

Drive to either Marathon or Marfa and stay someplace there.

There is one of the worst places I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alpine hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
3.6 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
#10 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Property: Sunday House Inn
Address: 2010 East Highway 90, Alpine, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunday House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Hotel Alpine
Sunday House Inn Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing