We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food at a Great Prices!”
Review of Cowboy Grill - CLOSED

Cowboy Grill
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican
Description: 432-837-5455
Restaurant details
Description: 432-837-5455
Elmer, New Jersey
Level Contributor
294 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Prices!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went twice during our week stay in Alpine. Eat meal a delicious BBQ delight. Good service. Friendly staff. Each cold drink is served in Texa-size huge glasses (with free refills). Chips and Salsa immediately brought to table and quickly replenished but save room for great meal that awaits. They have different daily specials. Meatloaf Monday brought a homemade entree that challenges Mom's best. My fav is the double meat platter...for me, brisket and pulled pork dipped in their delicious BBQ sauce. But a close second is their Chicken Fried Chicken--moist with a distinct delectable flavor. Don't want their Jalapeno Cornbread that comes with your platter...then save it for me!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plantersville, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was in town on business and decided to try the food based on other reviews. I travel extensively, so I have eaten in many, many places all over the state. During my stay, my father and I ate there three times. The food and service were excellent. The price was good for the quality and portions served. It was a casual atmosphere where we could relax. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PvilleTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chicken fried steak--good stuff”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I may be repeating others but don't let the exterior of the restaurant discourage you from a great meal. The chicken fried steak was wonderful. Place was clean & the waitress was bubbly & attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank touts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
307 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A good surprise!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From outside appearances, one wouldn't necessarily think this was a very decent restaurant. However, based on the cars parked there, we figured we'd give it a try. Also the previous TA reviews convinced me to go for it.
We stopped after attending the afternoon sessions at the Cowboy Poetry Gathering. Such an influx of people on this small town didn't seem to put a damper on the service or quality of the restaurant. Our waitress was prompt and friendly, offering suggestions when asked.
My husband ordered the 2 meat bbq plate, with brisket and pulled pork. I got the hamburger and fries. All were excellent, even the sides that came with the bbq. If I had to identify a weak area, I would say that the burger was a little overcooked. Not too bad but I usually like mike medium to medium rare. A choice was not given though so I can't say it wasn't what I ordered. The bbq sauce was very rich, smoky and kind of sweet. Not overly though. Tea was amply supplied.
When we had our fill, we got a to-go box for our leftovers (half a burger, some fries, and a little bit of brisket) and headed on home. Oh yeah, and when we asked for an empty cup to take our leftover tea, they filled us a brand spanking new one and gave us an empty one.
Thanks for a great dinner. It hit the spot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plbbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
347 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Gas Station Redux”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Cowboy Grille's new location in a completely redone old gas station is much disguised from the curb with its new paint. But inside the interior is redecorated in Texas decor, bright and shinny.. The food is now even better than at the old location with new menu items. Remember, steaks are the specialty and probably the best to be found in Alpine. The french fries are "home Cut" and are to die for. Best fries in west Texas we know of.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXRVer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowboy Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing