We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Value Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Value Lodge
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Kingsville, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I wanted a place just to sleep & shower after a 7 hr drive. Plus we were going to tour Fort Davis & Marfa which are both 30 mins away from Alpine. The marfa viewing center is 20 minutes away. The room was a king bed with a good size fridge and a microwave. All for $40. Good price for a one night stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex7492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
16
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A great value is to be had here. The beds are comfortable. There is a microwave and refrigerator. The chair is ergonomic. The whole place was spotless, including the grounds. There was no free coffee, sad to say. We were quite pleased for the $54 that was paid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewMexicoScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We took a spur-of-the-moment trip to Marfa and the Big Bend country during spring break. The Value Lodge was the only place I could find a room, so I didn't expect much at the price I had to pay ($67 + tax for the 3 of us). I was pleasantly surprised with room 103. This motel is plain, with no frills (e.g., no breakfast). It's not totally modernized, but it's clean and not run down. Everything worked -- another surprise. There's a microwave and small refrigerator. The beds were comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep. So, save yourself some money and just stay here.

Room Tip: Room 103 is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FX16GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecos, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I've visited Alpine on 30 occasions and have stayed at 4-5 different hotels. This hotel early 70s hotel reopened about 3 years ago and went through a major remodeling at the time. The rooms received new carpet, granite countertops, paint, art and new bed coverings.

That is the positive statement I'll make in fairness. The rest is not positive. I won't be back to stay here.

The owners have a lot to learn about the hospitality industry. He is an adult transplant from another country, I'm guessing India or Pakistan. He speaks very little English and never in a complete sentence. He is abrupt, devoid of tact or courtesy and worse still, he has held onto his Indian/Pakistani mentality of all strangers are just someone to ignore or just get something from. He is clueless about words like hospitality, graciousness, courtesy or friendliness. It is his culture brought to Alpine. Well his culture sucks.

Yes, the rooms are a value, all things considered. But there is more to doing business with someone than just them being the low bidder. So for $50 it is a value, but the contempt he shows is barely veiled.

He's got a chronic condition and it isn't curable. I'll spend my money elsewhere.

His wife is sweet, but she cannot undo the damage he does by his rudeness.

At 10:51 a.m. he calls the room and announces "checkout" and that is it. Really? First thing, checkout is at 11 so why are you calling me? I told him I would be staying another day and he grunted and hung up. This guy has the complete wrong attitude. I boycott jerks, and he qualifies as a jerk although it is probably just his culture that everyone is just worthless if you aren't related to them.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank CameraReadyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alpine hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We no more then got into the room and the commode was stopped up. I called the desk to advise of the issue. The desk man "I think the owner but not sure" was quick to accuse that we were the problem not his commode. He was kind enough to offer a plunger or we could go elsewhere. He was to busy to attempt to fix it. I was ready to leave but all other hotels were booked at that time and as my wife said it was just one night. If my wife did not intervene I would have left the town of Alpine right then!!! But I did plunge the commode myself and again and again every time we used the bathroom. If it weren't for my wife I would had sent them a bill for my plumbing services.
The plumbing issue aside, I would not stay here again just because of the rude way we were treated. I'm guessing the person at the desk had known there were no other options in Alpine at that time. He could treat us poorly and we had little recourse but to travel elsewhere. There will not be a next time I will book elsewhere. The Value is just not here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Modularmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Cant beat this place for the money. Free WIFI, decent-sized room, good bed and all rooms are ground floor so no noisy neighbors upstairs. :) TV is kinda small but I hardly watch TV anyways. Overall, as good as it gets!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEXANDER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We found out after only 15 min. of booking a room that we would not be able to go to Alpine. We called them and they refused to let us back out. We had gone through a booking agency who faxed the motel and asked them to not charge us. The manager was very rude to them and us. They got our money but not our business ever.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alpine hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
#11 of 13 in Alpine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Lodge

Property: Value Lodge
Address: 2000 E Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-5136
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Value Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Lodge Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing