We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of the scenery, comfortable bed, real furniture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of the scenery, comfortable bed, real furniture!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Historic and luxurious with a relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere--this was our experience of the hotel. We brought our own fan in case the railroad was loud, and were not awakened once by noise. We had a Jacuzzi bathtub, microwave, and fridge----modern convenience with the charm and grace of the past. Many good restaurants were within walking distance, as well as grocery store, movie theater and art galleries. We look forward to our future getaways there!!

Room Tip: Rooms by the fire exit are convenient for coming and going, as the parking lot is close at hand. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    109
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
85
215
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A great historic hotel in an interesting West Texas town. Don't let the plain exterior fool you, there is a gorgeous southwest style lobby from the 1920s that's warm and inviting. The rooms are stylish and comfortable and the staff friendly. We had a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Fascinating 1928 construction in old downtown Alpine. Headquarters for our Big Bend Park motorcycle adventure.

Large king suite with parlor and joining double queen. All the furniture was period. Table tops were hand scraped wood and there was a wet bar area. Flat panel TVs in all rooms. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud after a hard day ride. Everything was very clean and polished.

Massive main lobby for just hanging around. A leather pocket pool table and computer with internet access were available.

The staff was just like family. I worn them out asking questions about Alpine. Whatever my group needed, they provided.

The banquet area is under renovation and will be top notch when completed around July 2012.

If you don't need an on site fitness center and a pool, you will not find a more comfortable, quiet and relaxing stay for the money in Alpine, Texas. Get a beer and put your feet up.

Thank you, Holland House, for adding just a little something extra to our motorcycle riding stay in Alpine. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoked U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words and wonderful compliments. We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. Without our guests' feedback we could not strive to make each stay better than the last. If you were not aware we do offer gym access to A Cut Above Fitness right across the street. Also if you want to enjoy a little fun in the sun, our guests are more than welcome to head over to our sister property, The Maverick Inn. They have a wonderful outdoor pool and patio! We are looking foward to your next visit!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I can't remember when I've enjoyed a stay in a hotel more. It is perfectly themed for an 'Old West' adventure to the Big Bend area of Texas. The hotel is well maintained and has the feel of the early 20s that will complement any trip to the area. The kitchen/banquet areas were being renovated during our stay but we were provided a voucher to a 'Bread and Breakfast' bakery one block up the street (yummy cinnamon rolls). The hotel doesn't offer some of the amenities of the newer cookie cutter hotel/motel chains like pool, spa or fitness room but in my opinion the charm and authentic feel of the Holland more than make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel. We truely believe that we have something very special to offer our guests apart from other hotels. This is the perfect place for our guests who seek adventure and a dip in the history of Alpine. For next time, we do offer gym access to A Cut Above Fitness right across the street, and our guests also have access to our pool and patio located at our sister property The Maverick Inn. We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we value our guests' opinions and feedback!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed at the Holland one night on a solo bicycling trip that took me through West Texas, so in 3 days I stayed at the Gage in Marathon, the Paisano in Marfa, and the Holland in Alpine. Comparing them all, they were absolutely fine to stay in but the Holland was the best value for rooms and service. The Holland has a wonderful lobby and they are doing work on remodeling another room in the downstairs. I had a jacuzzi suite for a wonderful price, spacious, comfortable, great towels and bathrobes, I really enjoyed it and at a price that I got only a room with no bath at the Gage! The staff were very nice and helpful, and frankly seemed to be enjoying what they do. It is right downtown across from the Amtrak, close to several good restaurants. I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I had planned to,stay only two nights, had some car trouble and ended up staying four nights.
The staff was uniquely friendly and helpful. It is a great small town. Everything is pretty much within walking distance.
The rooms are very well appointed. It is a beautiful historic building.
I will stay again when I come to visit the Big Bend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoGuillermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Without our guests' feedback we could not continue to improve each guest experience. We are also glad to hear you made it back to San Diego. Please let us know the next time you will be visiting Alpine.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Holland doesn't seem to get a lot of publicity, perhaps because of the Gage being a better publicist. This is a very nice hotel, though. We would happily stay here any time we could. The lobby is beautiful, old vintage construction, but the rooms are fairly contemporary. Great bath, very comfortable bed. They make a joke about being close to the railroad tracks and put earplugs on your pillow. We never heard a thing, but we were facing the back of the hotel. Maybe the front can have some noise. There's no restaurant or bar, but they are supposedly working on one, and they gave us vouchers for breakfast at a cute little place down the street. Very nice room.

Room Tip: We were on the back side, 2nd floor and had no noise of any kind. We had a room with a whirlpool bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tomtx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Public Relations Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We would like to thank you for your lovely compliments. We are so happy you chose to stay with us. We strive to make each of our guests' stay better than the last. We value any feedback you could provide us with. Please give us a call when you are planning your next visit so we can make sure you are taken care of. We are very honored to know this was your best stay in all your travels. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing