We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in Loft 2 for Viva Big Bend”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Unless they changed out all of the furnishings in two days, I saw nothing that resembled Ikea in Loft 2 (as mentioned in the post below). We checked out on July 30 after staying 4 nights in Loft 2 during Viva Big Bend 2012. I think there's some confusion with the "Guest Quarters" building next to the Lofts. The Guest Quarters is all Ikea. The Lofts are anti-Ikea! We stay at the Holland "frequently" (considering it's 510 driving miles from our home!) and it is an excellent hotel. We never stay anywhere else when we're in Alpine (although we do try to work in a night at the Gage in Marathon every now and then, mainly for their great swimming pool!)

Room Tip: The Lofts are quieter than the main hotel because they are behind it, away from the highway.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay in the Lofts…we are happy to be managing this property…it has great appeal to folks who want some extra room, ground floor access, and maybe even an outdoor grill! We have just recently begun managing the Lofts property, and the Wright Building apartments…both of which are located immediately behind the hotel, and both of which have a completely different ambiance! True, the Wright Building apartments, although in a historic clinic, are decorated in Euro-modern…but they provide great amounts of space for families and groups! And the Lofts are so named for their loft-style, although they are on the ground floor! And the owner of the Lofts has many historic photos, and memorabilia from his family’s Big Bend pioneer days!
Thanks for the comments…and we can’t wait for ya’ll to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Holland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Holland Hotel for 4 nights while attending the Viva Big Bend Music Festival. The Holland served as the headquarters for this event and was a vibrant place the whole weekend. The staff at the hotel were very upbeat all weekend and were attentive to all of our needs! We have stayed at the Holland several times and have been more than satisfied with the rooms as we're fond of historic hotels. The beds are very comfortable and the location in town can't be beat. The Holland is preparing to open a restaurant on the premises and we are eager to try it out on our next visit. If you're looking to stay in a restored historic landmark then the Holland Hotel should be at the top of your list when visiting Alpine! Finally, if you are a music fan check out Viva Big Bend next summer....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you so much for your review! Viva Big Bend was a blast. It was wonderful to see the hotel revitalized with music and people! We are looking forward to it each year. We are also very glad to hear that you all had a great weekend. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our guests are very important to us and without your feedback we couldn't strive to make each stay more enjoyable.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Walking into the lobby of the Holland Hotel was shear appreciation for the wonderful restoration that has taken place. Having grown up in Alpine, I have seen some of the changes over the years and this time, the Holland Hotel welcomes you with it's original beauty and feel. What a treat! Save the stays at the newer hotels in town for when you have no other choice. Choose the Holland when in Alpine, you will not be sorry. You will have more to share when you get home and talk about your trip. History galore at every turn. You will not be giving up anything in the way of comforts and services. The staff was totally service oriented, professional but miles away from stuffiness! Cool little bar tucked into the lobby so plenty of room to spread out and check it all out! New restaurant being added and opening soon. Please support this great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Wow what a wonderful review and it means so much coming from someone who grew up in Alpine. The Holland has been through so much throughout the years, everything you have witnessed. It is definitely a treasure of Alpine with history galore pouring out of the doors! The staff really appreciates all your kind words. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in Alpine as a stop-off on the Sunset Limited train, primarily to visit Big Bend, but in the end our short stay in the town ended up being a highlight of the trip.

The hotel is located right across the street from the station, which is very convenient. When we arrived, there was no sign of our rental car, so the person on reception kindly called the company, who duly arrived and parked our car in the station car-park - again, very convenient free parking, right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel itself is classic station-style, with plenty of dark wood and a lovely renovated lobby. Our room was a decent size (not huge), with a good bathroom and high-quality toiletries provided, and a very comfortable bed. We also didn't have any trouble at all sleeping, despite our room overlooking the station itself.

We had a great breakfast at a local cafe, for which you receive a voucher, and a free drink of our choice at the bar. The barman was really accomodating, and has a great old book of cocktails, which he was happy to experiment with. Subsequently, we walked down the street to the Railroad Blues bar, which was a great experience on a Saturday night, and very close to the hotel.

Overall, the hotel was clean, brilliantly renovated, conveniently located and had helpful, friendly staff. For the price (we paid around $90 I think), it couldn't be beaten.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N_Lon_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We value your thoughts and feedback so much! Our hotel is definitely conveniently located by everything a guest needs to make their stay more enjoyable. The renovations are continuing with The Century Bar and Grill set to open in the fall. Please come back and visit us. If there is anything you may need please give us a call. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The rooms were wonderful, a great old place, restored to greatness. The beds are the most comfortable I have slept in and the linens are very soft. The staff, from the desk clerks to the maid staff are friendly and wonderful. There is newer in the area but you need to stay here once to say you have stayed here. Close to many sites in the city, making walking to everything easy. Staff also very helpful when looking for suggestions as to what to do and go see. Bar is excellent with first drink of the day free. A new bar and restrauant soon to open too. If anything like the rest of the hotel, they will be excellent as well. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: The penthouse is great, with a private hot tub abnd you can't beat the price. The balcony suite...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank You so much for your kind words and lovely comments. Without our guests' feedback we could not strive to make each stay more enjoyable than the last. Our staff really appreciates your kind words also. Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine, we have great repeat guest specials!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've watched this hotel rise from the ashes. It still has a way to go, but the new owners are really putting a lot of effort to make it a top notch place to stay. It is old, it is kinda dark, sometimes the room reservations are mixed up (I didn't get the room I reserved on-line last time), and as of now, there is no restaurant or bar---but the friendly service makes up for any short comings. The rooms vary, but all are very comfortable, very clean, and very reasonable rates It so much more fun to stay in a place with history and a sense of purpose and place. Within walking distance are great places to eat, cute shops, and excellent art galleries. It is right across the street from the historic train depot and you may hear the trains at night, but that doesn't bother me or keep me up. I just love this hotel and the area and the characters that you meet in Alpine.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are farther away from trains. Walk down to the Bread and Breakfast and go in the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophieandmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your stay at The Holland. You are absolutely right, since our new owners have taken over the hotel's has been brought back to life. Our staff really appreciates your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again! Our bar and restaurant will be open soon. And don't forget about our repeat guest specials!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A great hotel which had been recently totally refurbished. it has all the character of being an old station-hotel with tiled flooring and fireplaces. The lobby was very impressive. There was a free pool table, free iced tea and coffee all day and free breakfast was a voucher to a cute restaurant round the corner with massive pancakes. The room was a basic twin double, but it was very clean, and great for the price (as we'd pre-booked on lastminute.com). We got a free drink at the hotel bar where the barman made up a cocktail for me on demand. It was also a great location as it was right opposite the station and a short walk away from the Railroad Blues bar. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

First let us thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our staff highly appreciate your valuable comments as they work to make of your stay the best.

Please let us know when the next time you're in Alpine. We will be more than glad to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
409 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £107 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing