We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Alpine”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

The Holland Hotel is a nice hotel and better than the hotel chains in Alpine. They just opened up a bar and restaurant
In the hotel lobby.
The rooms are nice with an older historic flavor and very comfortable.
The Hotel was great but need a better staff choice with personality at check in but other than that I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Steve, we definitely agree with you! The Holland is so much fun! We definitely think we have something special to offer our guests involving history, convenience, location and of course comfort. I am sorry to hear that your check in experience was not as great as we strive to be. But we value your feedback so much, I can assure you next time you will be greeted with a smile!. Please let me know the next time you will be in Alpine so I can make sure your next stay will be better than your last.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stopped into this fine Hotel for breakfast only, not knowing that the breakfast is reserved for hotel guests! Well, we wondered about the "help yourself" attitude of the waitress at first. Then, she asked if we wanted eggs, bacon and hash browns with our coffee and juice and toast and we said we did. Later, we realized when another couple left that they did not pay. So, we then realized that the breakfast was included only for hotel guests! We told the waitress we appreciated it and the food was very tasty and we'd pay for it. She said not to be concerned about it, but my husband gave her and the cook a big tip since we were not charged for the meal. Nice West Texas hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lilela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

First and foremost I am so happy to hear that you were able to sample our breakfast! And thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we value feedback and encourage it. We are always looking for ways to improve our service. Please stop by and see us again!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

As with many small town America hotel and restaurants, this one had a new owner... again. But, the comfort level and abiance wasn't any different from our first visit eighteen months ago. Some changes... the bar moved to the former breakfast area. The former bar is now a game room with pool table, tv and soft refreshments. The courtyard upgraded with brick pavers and an art installation of "Saint Cowboy" by local artist Martha Scott. Complimentary breakfast was served in what is soon to be the new on-site restaurant. Rather than "continental style", the chef was serving up made-to-order eggs, hashbrowns and bacon while you made your own toast (from thick slices of fresh whole grain bread) and helped yourself to juice and coffee. No hot tea offerings but I had my own tea bag and was accomodated with hot water. Also, fresh fruit salad, yogurt and a very yummy granola to round out the options. We were in Room 202-203 which is a mini-suite, I believe. Two rooms (bedroom, living area), two baths, two tvs and plenty of room for two to get comfortable. Our room faced Holland Avenue and the railroad that crosses thru town. The hotel supplies each room with ear plugs, but we really didn't need them -- the trains pass thru quickly a couple times at night, adding to the ambiance, in my opinion. The hotel is within walking distance to galleries, shops, and a grocery store as well as a day-trip away from the Big Bend National Park, McDonald Observatory, Fort Davis, and Marfa.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel proper rather than one of the 'flats' or other properties they manage. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments. We love to hear feedback from our most important guests, who have hung in there with us throughout the years that have seen the many changes/ improvements and renovations. We are so happy with everything. And everything is done just to enhance each guest experience. Also thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We know time is valuable and we appreciate it very much. I also think having hot tea at breakfast would be a wonderful addition. Thank you so much for staying with us throughout the years. Let me know when you will be in Alpine again. I will give you a complimentary night just for being our most valued guest!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed at MANY high end hotels and this one, by far, was the most unique! We loved the decor, in that it kept with the originality of the hotel. When we checked in, they were pretty full so we ended up renting the Penthouse Suite. It was amazing, king size bed to die for and it's own private deck with a hot tub (NOT a whirlpool tub). The hotel has beautiful historic pictures and actual keys for the doors (not key cards lol). We will stay at the Holland every time we travel anywhere near Alpine!

Room Tip: Splurge for the Penthouse ... you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value our guests' feedback and we really appreciate hearing it. Without it we would not be able to improve and make sure your next stay is better than the last. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Penthouse Suite. It is amazing just as you stated! Thank you again. Please let us know whenever you will be coming back, we will have the hot tub ready for you!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have never been treated any nicer and better in my life.Joe and Georgia and staff really know how to treat people.The rooms are beautiful ,the lobby is hugh, and has true western flavor.Breakfast was great with an outdoor atrium,also opening a new restaurant.This town is in the TEXAS ALPS simply beautiful. Thanks for the memory JIM,SUE,JIMMY and AMBER,SEE YA AGAIN!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

I just wanted to say it was such a pleasure to meet you all. I am so happy to hear what a great time you and your family had on your visit to Alpine. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate it very much. Also it is our promise to you, the next time you visit you will have even more fun than before. Please let us know when you will be visiting Alpine again. Also don't forget to ask to the repeat guest special!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Three couples on bike ride to west Texas spent 3 nights at Holland Hotel. We all enjoyed our stay and the excellent hospitality of the staff. Beautiful old hotel. Breakfast was soon good! Their new bar & grill should be open soon. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liberoo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

First and foremost I hope you all had a great time on your bike ride to West Texas, how fun! Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We are looking forward to your return!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at the Holland for two nights as part of a journey thru the region. The penthouse unit was a little pricey, but well worth it. You have to walk up to the top floor, but have a spacious room, a small kitchen area with microwave and sink, and an awesome outdoor space with a good view of the mountains, the stars and a large hot tub for two. The staff at the Holland were enthusiastic and friendly, and the decor is vintage. The only possible drawback for some might be the trains going through. We don't mind the sound, but it was loud. The hotel provides ear plugs anyway in the room. If you stay there, be sure to travel up to Marfa to see the "mystery lights." An engaging community experience with a twist of mystery thrown in. We'll definitely be back to the Holland.

Room Tip: The penthouse is perfect for rail fans and star gazers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomertravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! And we are so happy to here you enjoyed your stay in our Penthouse Suite! We enjoyed reading your lovely compliments. Please let us know the next time you will be in Alpine

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
565 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £120 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing