We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to love it, but details need some work”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but details need some work”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Holland Hotel for two nights while visiting Big Bend National Park. As others have said, the owners have done a wonderful job of renovating the public areas of the hotel and it's great to see a landmark building like this brought back to life. The free tickets guests are given at check in for a drink in the bar are a nice welcoming touch and we enjoyed the beer on draft from the local brewery. The hotel is a one-of-kind place and, if a few details were addressed, it could be a truly great hotel again.

There are many different room types and the experience in each of them is likely to be different. We stayed in Loft #4, which we picked rather than one of the other lofts partly because the pictures on the website showed a large window in the living area. What we could not tell from the pictures was that the window is painted over (and may in any case face the wall of a building immediately behind the lofts). That's not from our perspective a fatal problem--there is a skylight in the room and a small window at the front, as well as a window in the door--but might be more of an issue for others. On the first night we were there, the person next door in Loft #3 was watching television and as the walls between the two are fairly thin, we could not avoid hearing the sound. I'm a fairly light sleeper and ended up wearing the earplugs the hotel provides to get to sleep. There was no one in Loft #3 the second night and our room was very quiet. The trains that pass through town did not bother us.

The hotel housekeeping left a bit to be desired. The shower curtain liner in our room was mildewed; from my perspective, there is really no excuse for that. The curtain also wasn't weighted down at the bottom, so had a tendency to wrap itself around you while you were showering. The fabric back on one of the chairs in our room had become detached, so was not really usable. The housekeeping staff came to our room after our first night there, but did not clear away the empty soda cans we had left on the counter, replace the plastic cups in the bathroom, or replace the ceramic coffee cups we had taken to the dining room at breakfast (admittedly partly our fault for not bringing them back). We also noticed that the trash can in the courtyard was not emptied during our stay.

The breakfast included in our room rate was adequate but not more. The menu included coffee and tea, juice, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns (from frozen), toast (nice bread) and croissants (not flaky, cool from the fridge). The granola in a jar on the serving counter did not appear to be crunchy and thus wasn't very appealing. That was the only cold cereal option. There were also oatmeal packages to be prepared with hot water. There was yogurt the first morning but not the second. The only fruit on offer was whole oranges and whole Red Delicious apples, which I did not observe anyone eating; some cut up fruit or bananas would have been nice. All in all, a bit more variety and a notch up in quality could have made the breakfast a more enjoyable experience. Oddly, the only cups provided for coffee at breakfast were disposable; ceramic cups would have been nicer.

Reading back through this review, it sounds a bit more negative than I perhaps really intend. I do think, though, that better attention to details would make the Holland Hotel a place I could be much more enthusiastic about.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kgahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I’m dismayed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we are able to deliver an exemplary hotel stay experience. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    111
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
90
220
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here two nights in early March on a Groupon that included two nights, breakfast two mornings, and $10 discount on food in the Century Bar and Grill. The hotel was vintage first class, and we loved everything about it. Thank you for preserving it for our enjoyment in the 21st century. We slept through some of the trains, and some woke us up, but we always went right back to sleep. We will stay here again in a heartbeat. We used our ten dollar meal coupon on two thirteen dollar hamburger plates at the Century Bar and Grill. While the burger was wonderful tasting, it simply was too big to eat as a burger. It was a HUGE 9 oz. burger on a HUGER bun, altogether about 6 inches high. My mouth opens 1.5 inches, so I couldn't possibly eat it as a burger. I tried sawing the thing in half, too messy. I tried scooping out most of the innards of the bun, still couldn't bite into it. It really was not a pleasant experience trying to eat that thing. A lot less of a good thing would be a whole lot better. Serve a 5 oz. burger on a smaller or just thinner bun and charge $10.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuju2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for writing your wonderful review on your recent stay in March! We are thrilled to hear what a great time you guys had! I am so happy you were able to take advantage of our Groupon special. We will be running a Groupon special again next year so hopefully we will see you guys again in the future! Our Chef also wanted to let you know that we do have a smaller version of our Century Burger on our Bar Menu! Thanks again!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

I raise my glass to whoever it was who had the huevos to invest a ton of money to renovate this (what is now a) fine old hotel. I love places like this, that anchor the old downtown and embrace the history of the region. The thing about Alpine is that the modern chain hotels are all out on the fringe of the town, but the Holland is at ground zero of this Texas outpost. And its got it going on! There's a nice bar, serving local brews on tap; there was some excellent live music in the courtyard; and I had two or three fantastic conversations with the front desk staff regarding places to eat and visit and the like. Note: while the Holland breakfast is fine and complementary, the little bakery two doors down has bombtastic cranberry muffins that you don't want to miss. The prices for rooms at the Holland are not only fair and reasonable, but probably low compared to the good stuff that you get.

The only downside -- and it is a BIG downside -- are the train whistles that punctuate the night. If you are a light sleeper, the Holland Hotel is probably not the place for you.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Pelicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
I am so happy to hear what a wonderful time you had with us! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments! We value our guests' feedback, without it we couldn't strive to make each stay more enjoyable and better than the last! FYI the City of Alpine and Union Pacific are currently working on a "quiet zone" for the town! Hopefully it will be passed through soon! Please let us know the next time you will be in town!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Love everything about this hotel, but I am not a heavy sleeper and the location means my pillow was about 70 yards from the train tracks. The provided earplugs did not block the sound. Trains came through at all hours. I left after two nights exhausted almost to tears.
If you can sleep through anything, go. It is really charming.
Side note to owners- there is no excuse for mildew in the shower, but as a frequent traveler, I am amazed how often I see it. Go to the store today and buy a bottle of mildew remover. Easy and cheap fix.

Room Tip: Ask for their quietest room on the back side. Hope it,works for,you, because this really is a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review on your stay with us! I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on sleep quality and cleanliness. I can assure you the next time you do visit us your room will be squeaky clean! Thank you so much for pointing out your issues, they were corrected the day of your review. I also wanted to let you know The City of Alpine and Union Pacific are in the works of configuring a "quiet zone" for Alpine! Hopefully it will be implemented soon. I can assure you, should you choose to stay with us next time, you will definitely have a more peaceful sleep with no train horn noise, Thanks again!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Holland Hotel has something that's rare in a hotel - a true sense of place. When we arrived at the Holland over Spring Break, we felt like we had stumbled upon on a laid-back party for guests and Alpine residents alike. There was music in the courtyard and good food at the Century Grill. During our five nights at the Holland we would wander out to Marfa, Fort Davis and Big Bend but always come back for a relaxing evening at the Holland. The rooms were comfortable, the service was good and the local insider tips of where to go from the hotel's general manager were spot-on. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Holland is across the street from the railroad tracks. Wasn't a problem for us but ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely compliments. It sounds like y'all had a great time. We value our guests reviews and feedback in order to make your next stay better than your last. Thanks again! Please let us know when you will be returning!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Original plans to stay in Marfa were not to be, since everything was booked the first weekend of our spring break. Before scrapping plans to travel to the Big Bend area we came across one of the most charming and comfortable hotels in Alpine, Texas. With historic ambiance and present day luxuries, The Holland Hotel is an unexpected and unassuming oasis in the heart of Big Bend country. Great beds, clean bathrooms, friendly and efficient check-in, hot breakfast, and a complimentary drink on night one made for a great start of our journey west. Would definitely stay here again and have already told others about this little gem in Alpine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us! I am so happy to hear what a great time you had with us. Also, thank you for spreading the word! We are very excited about your next visit!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Beautifully restored building. Family Friendly game room, quiet reading room. We were passing thru town, found this hotel, the staff was so friendly. While we already had a place to stay, they invited us back to listen to their live entertainment that evening. We felt so welcome even though we were not registered guests of the hotel. We came back that evening after spending the day walking around this quaint friendly little town. With our pets in hand, the hotel allowed our 4 legged family into the courtyard where we were treated to a Wonderful 3 piece band - Alpine Trio - as they called themselves. These guys were AWESOME!!!!! So much fun, such a variety of music, not too loud, and very good with the crowd. I hope to hear them again when we get back into town. The hotel staff took such good care of us. One in particular was Allie. She was incredible. Allie was wonderful with us, very caring to our children. She brought our youngest crayons and paper to color to keep her entertained. She was the only waitress we saw in the courtyard and took care of everyone the same way. Very sweet, took her time with everyone. To the manager Julie and all her staff, Thank You very much. We look forward to staying with your hotel the next time we are thru town. You guys were AWESOME!!!!!!! Darrin and Jo Ann, the girls, and dogs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Darrin, Jo Ann, girls and puppies!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at The Holland. Your kind words and lovely compliments mean so much to our staff! We want everyone who walks through our door to feel like they are "home" away from home! Thank you!!! I am looking forward to staying in touch with y'all throughout the year and can't wait for y'all to stay with us! We will strive to make your next experience even better than your first.

Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing