We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting the area”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base for visiting the area”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I am delayed in writing my review, we actually stayed at the Holland during Spring Break. It was a very pleasant stay. The breakfasts in the morning are a nice touch, as are having the tea and lemonade available throughout the day. We enjoyed taking walks through the downtown area of Alpine to explore. We used Alpine as our base to visit several places, Big Bend, the McDonald observatory, and some others. The rooms could use some
TLC due to age, or I would have given five stars. Overall though, it was very pleasant.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Txtnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Holland Hotel! we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for writing such a kind review of our hotel! Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    116
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
230
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely lobby with welcome cold water, iced tea and pink lemonade on a scorching day. Room was extremely comfortable with a down comforter so we could lower the A/C. Restaurant was very good, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Executive Assistant Sydney Tucker was charming, helpful and efficient and answered our every need. We plan to return for a longer visit and are recommending this property to our friends who plan to visit West Texas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Hey Mark we so enjoyed having you guys! we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you, and I hope to see you really soon! thanks so much!
Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the way back from Big Bend NP. They had an electrical problem and therefore had no rooms in the hotel. But they rent units across an alley. We had one (loft 4) which we liked. The lobby of the hotel is rustic and very charming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! I do apologize for the electrical problems that day! I hope you will come see us again and hopefully get to stay in one of our lovely rooms inside the hotel. Thanks again!
sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved this historic hotel!
Deluxe room with King Bed--great space to relax.
Easy street parking, nice lobby area.
Our room in this historic property included a fridge, micro, & coffee pot.
Our room included 2 comfortable reading/relaxing chairs--as well a bistro table & chairs.
We will definitely stay here again.
Be sure to dine in the restaraunt--excellent!
The staff are friendly, the hotel is spotless.
Nice getaway....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for you wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you guys back with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent one night on5/23/14
Great hotel - ambience very nice - relaxed and quiet
Staff helpful and friendly
Bar was great good selection of beverages
Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable
Breakfast bar was adequate for our needs coffee could have been stronger- but not a deal breaker
Great place will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We so appreciate your kind review of our hotel! im pleased to here that our staff was so accommodating and knowledgeable of our products. thank you so much for taking the time to give us some positive feed back! cant wait to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lajitas, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I gravitate toward older hotels, and this one has the charm and ambiance I look for. The room was artfully decorated and appointed. It was very quiet, although there were plenty of trains, they didn't bother me at all. Bed was great, just the right softness and room temperature was perfect. Definitely will repeat a visit to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sterri1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel! Im so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We aim to please here at the Holland, and we cant we to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Holland is a heritage hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights when we visited the Big Bend National Park about 100 miles away. There aren't a lot of great hotel options out in this part of west Texas, but the Holland took care of our needs. Welcoming, great breakfast, Nice comfortable and clean room. No complaints at all about this place. The trains coming through town can be an inconvenience for some who may not be used to having horns blowing as they pass through, but hey, this is the wild west. They even had ear plugs in the room if you feel you need them. They also have other rooms behind the hotel but we didn't stay in them but you might inquire about them. Loved our stay there.

Room Tip: May want a quieter room in the back if you don't like trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you such for your review of the Holland! we were so happy that enjoyed your stay with us! we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future! Thanks so much!
Sincerely
Executive Assistant Manager
Sydney Tucker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
534 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing