We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Holland Hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in the hotel itself, and I think that is the way to go (they have some units outside the main building). It definitely has the feel of a top quality hotel. Delightful decor (I loved the main lobby), tea/lemonade/snacks available round the clock, yummy breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

We had dessert in the hotel restaurant, and wished in retrospect that we had dined there for dinner. The food looked amazing!

One small issue I had was the entertainment in the restaurant courtyard which made for some noise in our room. However, the band stopped playing at 9:00 as promised (we called the front desk to inquire). I would have appreciated if they would have let us know ahead of time about the band and the ending time,

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinite36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you, for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize you were not notified in advance of the entertainment playing that night. We now put signs up at the front desk, to make guest aware of any bands playing during their stay. Thank you so much for your feedback! It is so important to us! Please come back and see us real soon!

Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    118
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
234
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a nice stay at the Holland Hotel. My husband told them that we were celebrating an anniversary so they upgraded us to the "pent house"! What a treat! Lovely sitting area and a deck and hot tub that was such a nice touch! Sadly when we returned from our day time adventure on the second day the room had not been cleaned and it was too late for that to be taken care of. This is a LOVELY hotel with lots of charm. The restaurant is top notch! IF we ever return to this part of the state of Texas, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! I am sorry that your room was not cleaned on the second day, we will address this problem immediately! We hope to see you very soon! Thanks again for your review, it was so kind of you to take the time to write it!
Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I am delayed in writing my review, we actually stayed at the Holland during Spring Break. It was a very pleasant stay. The breakfasts in the morning are a nice touch, as are having the tea and lemonade available throughout the day. We enjoyed taking walks through the downtown area of Alpine to explore. We used Alpine as our base to visit several places, Big Bend, the McDonald observatory, and some others. The rooms could use some
TLC due to age, or I would have given five stars. Overall though, it was very pleasant.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Txtnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Holland Hotel! we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for writing such a kind review of our hotel! Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely lobby with welcome cold water, iced tea and pink lemonade on a scorching day. Room was extremely comfortable with a down comforter so we could lower the A/C. Restaurant was very good, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Executive Assistant Sydney Tucker was charming, helpful and efficient and answered our every need. We plan to return for a longer visit and are recommending this property to our friends who plan to visit West Texas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Hey Mark we so enjoyed having you guys! we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you, and I hope to see you really soon! thanks so much!
Sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the way back from Big Bend NP. They had an electrical problem and therefore had no rooms in the hotel. But they rent units across an alley. We had one (loft 4) which we liked. The lobby of the hotel is rustic and very charming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! I do apologize for the electrical problems that day! I hope you will come see us again and hopefully get to stay in one of our lovely rooms inside the hotel. Thanks again!
sincerely,
Sydney Tucker
Executive assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved this historic hotel!
Deluxe room with King Bed--great space to relax.
Easy street parking, nice lobby area.
Our room in this historic property included a fridge, micro, & coffee pot.
Our room included 2 comfortable reading/relaxing chairs--as well a bistro table & chairs.
We will definitely stay here again.
Be sure to dine in the restaraunt--excellent!
The staff are friendly, the hotel is spotless.
Nice getaway....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, General Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for you wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you guys back with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castroville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent one night on5/23/14
Great hotel - ambience very nice - relaxed and quiet
Staff helpful and friendly
Bar was great good selection of beverages
Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable
Breakfast bar was adequate for our needs coffee could have been stronger- but not a deal breaker
Great place will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica U, Manager at Holland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We so appreciate your kind review of our hotel! im pleased to here that our staff was so accommodating and knowledgeable of our products. thank you so much for taking the time to give us some positive feed back! cant wait to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
402 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
61 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Hotel

Property: Holland Hotel
Address: 209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Holland Alpine
Hotel Historic Holland
Holland Hotel Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing