We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest little inn in West Texas”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweetest little inn in West Texas”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

After a long drive out of Austin on our way to Big Bend, we were lucky enough to have booked a room at the Maverick Inn. Their cute west Texas decor, unique historical artifacts, and super friendly staff are hard to come by in the west Texas desert, let alone in the big city. Our stay was even sweeter when we woke up for the continental breakfast that included their own homemade coffee and granola. If you are headed west, Alpine is a great little town to stop in, and the Maverick Inn is the place you'll wish you'd stayed. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Jasmine,
Thank you so much for the review, I could feel your sincerity. I really appreciate your compliments on our breakfast. Please stop in on your next Big Bend adventure. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    110
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
103
168
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

First off, TripAdvisor has this misclassification as a B&B and it is very clearly a motel in the 1930's and 1940's motor court style in that you park right outside your room door.

This motor court was originally built in the late 1930’s by a pioneer ranching family as Grandview Courts, later operated as the Siesta Country Inn, and recently renovated as The Maverick Inn.

I stayed here for several nights in late May while hiking in Davis Mountains State Park. The pet-friendly 21 rooms consist of 3 room types - standard, deluxe and superior. I had reserved a standard king room, but when I checked in I was offered a larger king & queen deluxe room at no additional cost. All rooms and the lobby are no smoking areas.

According to their web site, all rooms feature "signature pillow-top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, down comforters, luxury bath linens and amenities, complimentary in-room coffee service and bottled water, Talavera and Mexican glass service ware, flat panel TV’s, mini-refrigerator, microwave and complimentary Wi-Fi." I can attest to the above statement, but I will note that the bedspread in my room had a fairly large and obvious hole in it.

There is a complementary cold continental breakfast daily offering handmade granola and pastries, which I was out too early for both days as it does not open until 8.

The Maverick Inn was OK for my needs, which weren't much, but guests need to be aware of the noise factor here. This small property is sandwiched between US Highway 67/90 and the railroad tracks. Some rooms are right along the highway and the truck and motorcycle noise can be quite loud, but it did quiet down later at night. The train traffic, however, continues periodically all day and night. I am not sure of the schedule, but it seemed like about every hour. As the train approaches town it starts blowing its warning whistle and continues to do so all through town, including right next to The Maverick Inn. The rooms come with ear plugs, but for some people that won't be nearly enough.

Although an interesting experience, the next time I am in the area I will opt for either the Hampton Inn or 1 of the lofts in the Williams Vogt building that are managed by Holland House as I prefer a more modern and quieter facility.

Although I didn't stay there, but did eat 1 dinner there, the renovated lobby, bar, restaurant and courtyard of Holland House are a must see when in Alpine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review and your historical synopsis...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Why the heck would anyone give this place four dots. If there were 20 it would not be enough. We stayed there on the way to Big Bend for a hiking trip. We drove back thinking we would try something else,went to Marfa.... nope.... then Marathon.... nope again.We looked at each other and said "Maverick". So we drove back to Alpine. Staff is amazing. Pool was perfect. We were both so sore from hiking so the big tub was just what we needed. I needed a cork screw, the guy at the front desk almost tripped over himself getting it to me. P.S. do yourself a favor and watch the cats.... better than television. And I am not a cat person.

Room Tip: garden bath.... room 54
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolsen781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank You!! I'm still laughing about the cats and I'm not a cat person either. We are just so glad to have you weigh in for us against the alternatives and that you truly had the pleasant and comfortable time you were seeking. Thanks again...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Awesome romantic get away for the weekend!
Rooms are spacious and well appointed.
Beds are super nice and linens are clean and top of the line.
Decor is extreme Southwestern, which is my taste. Others may not like as much, but the rooms are tastefully appointed, regardless.
Good off street parking, with a bit of a squeeze for bigger vehicles.
Air conditioning and ceiling fan were great and just right.
Towels were so-so, as were the amount of soap and shampoo supplied. The quality is there though, just add 1 more of each per room and perfection is achieved!
Would love to see bigger, higher quality towels and bath linens supplied.
Hug garden tub that was incredible!
Everything was immaculately clean!
Manager was friendly, kind, helpful and check-in was amoung the easiest I have ever encountered!
The pool and the outdoor lounge area are simply amazing!
Love the little nook community kitchen! Top notch and amazingly stocked!
THANK YOU MANAGER! YOU KNOW HOW TO TREAT GUESTS TO 1ST CLASS SERVICE!!
Top Notch!

Cons:
Towels and shampoo/soap supply per room.
Perhaps a wall seperating toilet from bathtub area.

Overall:
Great place to stay!
Recommended especially for romatic couple weekend get-away. Family reunion gathering spot. Families visiting Ft Davis/Marfa Lights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you very much for a "sterling" review and input. Just to let you know I am in the process of upgrading the bath linen because I agree with you wholeheartedly. I also like that idea of a partition in those baths. Thank you again, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed on the night of April 29, 2013. It was a great place reminiscent of the the old motor inns. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff helped us locate someplace to eat. After supper we relaxed at the pool where lounge music was playing. Breakfast was much better than most places. They had fresh pastries from a local bakery and a refrigerator full of different juices and yogurt. We ate on the patio outside the breakfast area. Very nice with flowers growing all around it. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed visiting with them. We highly recommend this place and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Cheri,
Thank you so much and I am so glad y'all had a great time. Knowing the beauty of where you live we really appreciate the compliments on our surroundings. Thank you again and we hope to see you on the next visit...Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

If in Alpine Texas and looking for a place to stay experience (The Maverick Inn) This Place is Highly Recommended ..Our Family Stay was very pleasant. The complete staff was very nice,and made you want to return. The Maverick also fits the town and makes your stay unique. I myself personally would say this is better then staying in other places.

Room Tip: The staff will find you the perfect room to make your stay pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Yolanda,
Thank you so much, especially the family comments! I hope things have calmed down as a whole for y'all and we'll see you for the reunion in 2014! Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I have stayed at "The Marvelous Maverick" many many times and everytime I have been completely satisfied!

The location is central to all of the attractions that far West Texas has to offer and lives up to its name as a place for wanderers. Every room I have stayed in has its own unique flare and ambiance. The rooms are clean and boast an array of amentities.

If you are looking for a great place to stay that is out of the ordinary, please consider "The Maverick Inn". But, if you are looking for another same-old-run-of-the-mill,cookie cutter hotel, then this ain't the place for you!

- Frankie

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheekee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaverickInn, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Gosh Frankie, what can I say but thank you, thank you and thank you! It's always great to have you here and it's so good to have a review from a repeat guest. You've made our day!
Thanks again, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
539 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Property: The Maverick Inn
Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine
The Maverick Inn Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing