We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Maverick Inn is a nice place to stay. We stay there from the April 21 - 24, 2014. The only problems we had was when we first arrived we had a broom across our doorway (we were not sure if it was left there from cleaning or was it for us to use), smoke alarm was open with no battery and our shower curtain had mildew/mold on the bottom. Despite these issues I would stay at the Maverick Inn again. The breakfast was great with a choice of items to pick from. Location was perfect it was within walking distance to the heart of Alpine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaspasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Maverick is a beautifully appointed roadside motel with a wonderfully, friendly staff . We had a lovely room with king sized bed and giant garden tub. No shower in this room, so relax and enjoy a soak. Super clean and well maintained. Loved the location, right near everything. A perfect continental breakfast with homemade baked goods started our mornings. Alpine is a lovely town with lots to do in the area. We loved our stay at The Maverick and will be back as soon as we can. Thanks for making our 35th wedding anniversary trip so memorable! Craig and Cindy Darling-McKinney Texas

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyD32157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Quaint motor inn, simple but has everything you need. We stayed in room 26 with two queens beds and it meet our needs. Beds are nice and soft and the room was very clean. No phones in the rooms, but there are flat screen televisions and free wifi. The complimentary breakfast was great with tasty muffins, cinnamon rolls, and pigs in a blanket. The pool area is nice as well as other outdoor areas.

Room Tip: Room 26 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Maverick was one of the high spots on our trip, There are few of the old motor hotels left and this is one of the best. Park right by your door, bed was great. Breakfast selection was wonderful and the cat on duty would clean up any crumbs you drop. The staff was as friendly as everyone else we met in Alpine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed there the last 3 years and think it is great. The service is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was especially helpful because when you ride a motorcycle it is easier to eat breakfast before you gear up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbentdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked this place because of reviews from tripadvisor. However, after stay there one night, we feel disappointed given its price is over 100 bucks.
(1) The outlook is cool
(2) The location is good
(3) The bed looks clean

(1) The room assigned to us is very small and without enough chairs. It is not spacious as other people reviewed.
(2) The room we stayed is just close to the street and with lots of noise. Hubby couldn't sleep well at all
(3) Breakfast starts too late (start from 8AM). So just be prepared if you want to leave early in the morning
(4) The shower head has problem and the shower is tiny. It took me a long time to wash out soaps.
(5) The light inside the room is very poor. I personally don't like it.
(6) The wifi signal is so poor and be prepared you can't have any signal at all.

All in all I won't recommend this place to others. If I know it is like that, I would rather pay less and live in some other places at Alpine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Vera,
Thank you for your review and providing me the insight into you disappointment. First let me truly apologize for your frustration, but would like to address them in this forum. The Maverick was built in the 1930 and the building you were in was actually the first building built although we have gone through several renovations the are some things that remain unchangeable such as the bathroom size and original piping issues. Please understand I am not making excuses, but we have done all within our power to correct those issues. Nor can I do anything about our proximity to the street. I really wish you had brought up your early morning challenge with the staff as we provide all of our breakfast items the evening before for your early morning convenience. At the time of your stay I had identified a WiFi broadcast deficiency and replaced an antenna the following week that was damaged during a recent wind storm prior to your stay, so please let me apologize again. Feel free to contact me at :manager@themaverickinn.com if you feel I could do more to address your concerns.
Sincerely,
Mark Spring, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Nice staff. Cool-looking buildings. Good free breakfast. The prices are reasonable; rooms are rustic but in a good way. This is our second time staying here. Stayed in room 31, the big room with queen and king bed. Free Wifi and the signal is strong. We'll be back.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank SlipperyWeavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for the review. The best part to me was that this was your second visit and I'm just glad to have you back and that all was well. I really appreciate your WiFi comment as I did have a recent issue, so it is reassuring to know that is resolved. Thank you again...Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
516 reviews
3 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £90 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine
The Maverick Inn Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing