We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Escape To”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Escape To”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had the most delightful stay at this wonderful little motor court with a modern flare. Our room was lovely with comfortable king bed, a large walk in shower and beautifully decor. We really loved the little balcony that was so comfortable to sit on in both the early morning and evening.
The continental breakfast was definitely a step above the ordinary with amazing locally roasted coffee, delicious pastries, bagels, scones and English muffins as well as a large assortment of fruit juices and yogurt. We could start the day of playing tourist off right. Since we travel with our little beagle, we found the Maverick Inn to be pet friendly as well. Our "little one" was greeted with her own snacks too enjoy too. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant, and the atmosphere absolutely delightful. We will definitely return to relax and decompress from the big city. Thank you for making our get away such a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mommybeagle:

Thank you very much for your review and the kind words. We really do hope ya'll have a chance to return in the near future. Thank you Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    104
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
159
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lajitas, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Although this is a huge step above the old motor courts of my childhood. Beautifully decorated and appointed. I know this will seem trivial but the ceramic coffee cups make all the difference to me. Garden tub was great and the whole inn is so clean and welcoming. Definitely a repeat customer.

Room Tip: IF you want a shower, do not get the garden tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sterri1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Stern 1955:

It was so nice of you to give us such a gracious review. Your comment about our ceramic coffee cup is not trivial, I think it adds to our uniqueness of The Maverick Inn. We look forward to having ya'll visit us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Maverick Inn is a nice place to stay. We stay there from the April 21 - 24, 2014. The only problems we had was when we first arrived we had a broom across our doorway (we were not sure if it was left there from cleaning or was it for us to use), smoke alarm was open with no battery and our shower curtain had mildew/mold on the bottom. Despite these issues I would stay at the Maverick Inn again. The breakfast was great with a choice of items to pick from. Location was perfect it was within walking distance to the heart of Alpine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaspasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Maverick is a beautifully appointed roadside motel with a wonderfully, friendly staff . We had a lovely room with king sized bed and giant garden tub. No shower in this room, so relax and enjoy a soak. Super clean and well maintained. Loved the location, right near everything. A perfect continental breakfast with homemade baked goods started our mornings. Alpine is a lovely town with lots to do in the area. We loved our stay at The Maverick and will be back as soon as we can. Thanks for making our 35th wedding anniversary trip so memorable! Craig and Cindy Darling-McKinney Texas

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyD32157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Quaint motor inn, simple but has everything you need. We stayed in room 26 with two queens beds and it meet our needs. Beds are nice and soft and the room was very clean. No phones in the rooms, but there are flat screen televisions and free wifi. The complimentary breakfast was great with tasty muffins, cinnamon rolls, and pigs in a blanket. The pool area is nice as well as other outdoor areas.

Room Tip: Room 26 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Maverick was one of the high spots on our trip, There are few of the old motor hotels left and this is one of the best. Park right by your door, bed was great. Breakfast selection was wonderful and the cat on duty would clean up any crumbs you drop. The staff was as friendly as everyone else we met in Alpine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed there the last 3 years and think it is great. The service is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was especially helpful because when you ride a motorcycle it is easier to eat breakfast before you gear up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbentdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
3.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Property: The Maverick Inn
Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine
The Maverick Inn Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing