We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and a suberb bed!”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place and a suberb bed!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We made a West Texas road trip and stayed in 5 different hotels of the 5 places (including 2 nights in El Cosmico one night in pinky and the other one in safari tent) our favorite was the Maverick Inn. It was super clean compared to everything else and we loved the decoration! The bed was just amazing! We want one for our home! The bathroom was very little I must admit.
The girl at the reception was not very firendly and she forgot to tell us breakfast was included it was until next morning when we were checking out that the we noticed there was actually a lovely and functional kitchen for us to use and have breakfast. Breakfast was ok can´t complain not excellent but not poor.
We will gladly repeat our experience in the Maverick Inn and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Please let me be the first to apologize for my front desk agents attitude and lack of informing you about our breakfast. We have taken extra measure's to re-train our front desk agents and employees. A slow process, but I hope it will be beneficial to all our guest. I do ask if you would allow us a second chance to have you stay in our wonderful beds and enjoy our "yummy" breakfast. We look forward to seeing ya'll again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    107
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
102
166
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved staying here while passing through Alpine and have already booked a return stay in November. Nice people, nice and cozy rooms and oh so much charm and character. Love it!

PS My only suggestion (not a complaint though) is that they add some lounge chairs by the pool. There are only a few chairs, but no chaise lounges. It is a small area, so I'm sure that is the reason, but still, they are needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel fit our budget and was full of West Texas charm and desert flair. However, the shower was very small and the water pressure was low, making it difficult to wash soap off or feel hot water relief after a long day, and the shower floor was grimy. We were in a king bed/shower room. The bedroom layout is awkward, with the TV placed at the end of the room and the bed facing the windows. Although breakfast was a convenient spread of yogurt, fruit, and breads, there were no whole grain bread options, only white. I made do with a packet of instant oatmeal, but I feel that if you are not offering proteins you should substitute healthy options like whole grains.
We really enjoyed clean linens, a comfortable bed, watching storms roll in on the adirondack chairs in the courtyard, and a great dip in the pool.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meg_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Comfortable bed in a small room. Clean very small bathroom. Trains woke me twice in the night. Breakfast doesn't start until 8:00 am which is too late for me and many travelers. All right for a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was a singular female alone on the road and made Alpine, TX my pit stop on the way to Truth or Consequences, NM. This place is such a nice surprise. It's cozy, it's cute and the rooms are furnished so nicely. It was above and beyond what I expected from a small inn on the side of the road. Much better than any hotel. They have a nice kitchen to use in the lobby, the lobby seems to be open late, they provide you with a coffee and a coffee pot in the room (always a plus for me), everything was clean, the bed was comfortable. Despite the train that passes every so often (it's so loud), everything was pleasant. I mean, they even give you earplugs for the trains... how thoughtful. Overall, great experience and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My son and I took road trip to California and stopped here on the way. This was not a full service resort hotel ,nor did it pretend to be. But the hotel and grounds were very nice and well maintained.It kind of looked like the hotel belonged in Phoenix. The best part was how nice and well informed the staff was. Felt very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room we had was small. The toilet area was so small that my arms touched the walls on each side, and had to be careful because the bathroom door opened to within a foot of the toilet area. The shower was very small also. The bed was sloping down toward the head slightly but with the pillows it was comfortable. This hotel was highly rated and I was disappointed. We wanted to leave early (7am) but had to wait until 8 am because no one was in the office till then. If there were rooms that looked like the ones in the web page, we didn't get one.

Room Tip: The rooms are close to the street & railroad tracks but the inn supplies ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
0.8 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
22.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Property: The Maverick Inn
Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine
The Maverick Inn Alpine, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing