We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoy our stay at this hotel every time we're in Alvin, which is pretty often. We love the fact that LQ accepts pets. The staff is friendly and helpful as well. The rooms are clean and fresh, breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Location, amenities and staff make this La Quinta our choice for lodging when visiting the south Houston area. We have never encountered any negative issues with this hotel and will return again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Front desk receptionist had to finish her texting before she could check us in! House keepers will get in the elevator before you and make you have to wait because they have there cart with them and there just is not enough room. Where she should have let us go first, then go on the next one.
Pool was very clean and nice. Rooms were nice. They must have all just been remodeled.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

lets start at beginning , making reservation I have No complint ! the guy was very polite , a good impression . I did not catch his name , however I DO know he has GINGER colored hair and is irish, we conversed about our heritage which was nice. when I got to hotel MR ginger was not on duty, sadly , a brunett fellow was, HE was not friendly , scrutinized my license , as if I were a criminal , looking at it , then back at me, I do not look different than my license . 2nd I was told I could not have a requested room on 1st floor, he claimed they were all booked, throughout the night of which I could not sleep , the hotel walls are thin, the bedding is awful, no big and fluffy duvet , instead a worn out ugly thin bedspread! therefore I looked out my window thru the night , there were very few guest's, I do not understand why ?I could not have a room on 1st floor! next the SMELL! the lobby smelled like cat pee ! it was pretty strong! I stay in quiet a few hotel"s and so I expect a certain standard, I have never had a sub standard LA QUINTA, this particular LA QUINTA is not very old , I have stayed in " older LA QUINTA'S, with the old design, yet had quality, fluffy clean duvet's, I did NOT hear my " neighbors" I do not understand the detoriation of this hotel. I stayed there last month. The next time I need to stay in Alvin , I will stay next door at THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS. the only positive were the ginger haired fellow and the breakfast was delicious with everything one could want ! eggs , biscuit.s , bacon, gravy for biscuits, fresh fruit , but I cannot stay there just for the breakfast and a polite person on phone

Room Tip: as far away from lobby as possible , has a terrible odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anadee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I like La Quinta because their rooms are always clean and the hotels always give a good presentation. The breakfast is great, the staff is friendly, and the accommodations are as we expect. Our biggest issues with this hotel were twofold: the beds and the distance to Galveston. The king bed was like laying on a board and the sofa sleeper - for our 14 year old daughter - was so uncomfortable that she slept with us the second night. The distance to Galveston (about a 35-45 minute drive) was a little longer than we would have liked, but it was tolerable. Overall, this was a nice hotel with friendly staff. On our next journey to the coast, if being really close to the island is expensive, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank amber j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Conroe, Texas
1
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I will start my review off saying the staff was friendly and helpful...that is the only postive experience we had at this hotel. When we checked in we were given room 119. It had a smell and the ceiling fan did not work. I notified the desk after one night--the desk clerk found another room for me...it smelled worse than the room we had..she spoke with the manager and upgraded me to another room...this one smelled of urine really bad. We went out and came back they had finally found a room that did not smell but, my son had to sleep on the roll out sofa and it was near the air conditioner...which was very loud every time it came out...so he did not get much sleep..on top of all of those issues the sheets were very rough. To top things off they do not serve decaf coffee at breakfast. I picked this location after reading the review and looking at the pictures. I thought it was a new hotel...it is not. It is old--the minute you walk in it smells... I would not return to this location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank bstaceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvin
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston-Alvin
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Alvin
Super 8 Alvin
#2 of 8 in Alvin
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Alvin/Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alvin Extended Stay
Alvin Extended Stay
#5 of 8 in Alvin
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scottish Inns & Suites
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Manvel Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin

Address: 880 S Bypass 35, Alvin, TX 77511-4171
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Alvin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alvin
Price Range: £87 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Alvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing