We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for family reunions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiva Hotel Amarillo
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Atrium for visiting - pool, convenient for supervised children (3' to 5' deep), pool table and
games available, small and large meeting rooms for visiting, convenient to restaurants,
great place for family reunions! Motel staff was cordial, and helpful. Great free breakfast
was served. Would recommend to anyone. Not plush, but comfortable. Reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilter1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Kiva Hotel Amarillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

A musty dated hotel that came with a complete customer service FAIL.

You really do get what you pay for. Which, in our case, was an overnight check-in attendant that would not honor our 3-room reservation. The reservation was made online, and we had confirmed it by calling. We also called 3 times as well that day, since we were arriving very late.

On arrival, she told us she had the reservation, but could not give it to us, and instead, had to create a new reservation, and jacked our rates (from $42 to $60 per room). Also, they did not have the roll-out that we'd asked for in each of the 4 phone calls (which they they told us would be ready).

The attendant proceeded to complain that she'd just been put on nights, as though that excused her failure to be able (or willing) to honor our reservation.

Our expectations weren't high for a $42/night online reservation, but they managed not to meet them. So, take your chances, I guess.

On second thought, just don't.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottnaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

As a deal from Hotwire, we wound up spending the night at the Kiva. The initial reviews I read almost had me backing out, but we stayed anyway. For folks traveling through Amarillo, it isn't a bad place for an overnight stay. Dated and dark (reminds me of hotels as a kid in the 60s), but the rooms are clean, parking is close to the room, and the beds are comfortable and so are the chairs (where my youngest slept). Breakfast is marginal, but otherwise I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltWaterCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

filthy, stained linens, towels, bug infested, smoky.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igottagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I had a a paid confirmation for 3 adults and on child. They charged me $ 20.00 more at check in. NEVER USE LA KIVA. THE STAFF IS RUDE. There are many other places to stay in Amarillo. The LA KIVA was at one time a wonderful place to stay, NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lousy_Stay_In_Amaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I have stayed here before but it is getting a bit run down. The room was clean and service was good. Good location. The pool and hot tub however, was really nasty. Wouldnt even get in it was so bad! Breakfast was good.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I'm surprised by all of the negative reviews. My wife and I stayed here as we were passing through and we thought it was a great value. It was only $52 including taxes, and the room was large and clean. The lobby and atrium are spacious and attractive. While it's obvious that this hotel is past its prime, I've stayed in much worse hotels for a lot more money. The atrium has a fountain with koi fish in it! Plus a free breakfast was included. The lobby is decorated with a giant, two-story mural with an out-west theme. The rooms themselves are interesting because they have two entrances; one door opens up to the indoor atrium and the other opens up to the parking lot. We were able to park our car right at our door, but then we used the inner door to the atrium to go get breakfast in the moring.

The negatives: The fixtures in the bathroom were slightly corroded. The shower head flopped around and wouldn't stay in one place. The hotel could use a little work, but overall, we both thought it was a great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martylunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
0.4 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 72 in Amarillo
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiva Hotel Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Hotel Amarillo

Address: 2501 Ih-40 E, N. Frontage Rd, Amarillo, TX 79104
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kiva Hotel Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kiva Hotel Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Kiva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing