We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A/C did not work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
sulphur
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A/C did not work”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

The air conditioner did not work in our room. We thought that it was because it was hot when we came in but it never did cool it down. We told the front desk and they moved us down the hall to another room. The air conditioner worked great in that room. We did have someone across the hall that had dogs in there room and they barked . This is suppose to be a pet free hotel. Breakfast was a very busy place. They had it where you could make your own waffles but they had a sign up that said that they were out of syrup. The staff seemed like they were really nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    69
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
59
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The desk clerk was standing outside the front door smoking as we walked into the non-smoking facility. Our room was saturated with cigarette smoke; when we requested another room we were told that there were none available at the Fairfield, nor in the area so we elected to spend the night. The bed linens were torn; the bathroom floor was dirty/sticky; neither the elevator nor the hallways were air conditioned; the breakfast was poor. After all of that when we arrived home and unpacked, our clothing reeked of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TharaldsonCorporate, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel and I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed! We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right. We hope with our continued efforts to improve you will keep the Amarillo Fairfield Inn & Suites in mind next time you stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Not too much to tell. Nothing really stood out as great, but we had no complaints either. Friendly desk, good beds. A solid property.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was the first time that I have ever encountered a "dirty" Marriott hotel.
The "runners" on the end of the beds were filthy. The bathroom had someone else's hair still in it. Dirty light switch.
The room was hot and stuffy as they had kept off the a/c and it was 100 degrees outside!
a/c did not keep the room cool.
White towels had "stains" on them. Should have been thrown out not put out !
Did not like the "funny stuff" when signing into the free wifi.
Very disappointed. Usually always stay at Marriott, but will start trying other chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bratley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TharaldsonCorporate, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I apologize these issues caused you to have a negative experience at our hotel. I want to assure you that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and these issues have been addressed! We hope with our efforts to continuously improve the stay for our guests, you change your mind and try the Amarillo Fairfield Inn & Suites again next time you stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed there for one night in mid-April, on the 3rd floor. I had been on a trip cross-country, and this was the third Fairfield Inn I had stayed at. It had the same contemporary decor that the others had, a very comfortable bed, good bathroom facilities, friendly front desk staff, and was very clean. On many levels, a very nice motel. Fairfield Inn was making me a believer.

However, I did have a big gripe with them. The 'free' wi-fi requires that you login and commit to a lengthy legal agreement. I wouldn't do it and felt that it was no longer free, I had to forfeit my privacy. Having stayed at a string of different hotels, all with free wi-fi, this was the first time that a login was needed. I tried entering several room numbers to get around this (111, 222, 312), all rejected. The wi-fi system knew which room I was in, so the real goal was my agreeing to their terms. I assume all of their internet traffic is being recorded in their wi-fi system, are they selling it? This is such a breach of customer trust and confidentiality that I won't stay at another Fairfield Inn without first asking about this issue. I complained to the front desk at checkout, they admitted that had received complaints about this.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarilloFF_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. It is only through the comments and suggestions of our guests that we can strive for "Legendary Service".

I am aware of the problem regarding our terms and conditions page when starting your browser at our hotel. This has not always been the case with our internet and it changed due to a recent reset that was done to our server. Currently, we are working with out Internet provider to totally eliminate the request for information completely.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Andrew Rabinowitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

The rooms were clean and well-appointed. Front-desk staff was very attentive at check in. Breakfast was of lower quality than normal for this chain (less selection, oatmeal was solid as rock), and the attendant was not attentive to replenishing things as they ran out (coffee, plates, etc.) and had a bad attitude when reminded. All in all, bad experience relative to other similarly priced hotels and to this chain.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casoenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at this location after a long trip from Houston. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the rooms and lobby were very clean and colorful. There was a decent variety of breakfast choices in the morning. The staff was very nice. The pillows were not so comfy, but a lot of that is just personal choice. We would definitely stay at this location again and would consider other Fairfield Inns in other cities as a result of this experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debt1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amarillo
Residence Inn Amarillo
#10 of 73 in Amarillo
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Amarillo
Homewood Suites Amarillo
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
10.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
Address: 6600 Interstate 40 W, Amarillo, TX 79106-2502
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center hotel is located near the Westgate Mall in Amarillo, Texas. Our Marriott hotel offers comfort and convenience with our spacious rooms and central location. Amarillo attractions are close by. The Palo Duro Canyon is 30 minutes from our hotel, Downtown Amarillo is a short drive away, and we're minutes from shopping, fine dining, and entertainment options. We're also nearby many of the Amarillo area businesses such as Pantex and Northwest Texas Hospital. Guests of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center can enjoy complimentary WiFi and Breakfast during their stay, along with access to our 24 hour fitness center, and indoor pool and hot tub. No matter the reason for staying in Amarillo, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center staff is available for all your hotel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Amarillo
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Amarillo
Fairfield Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing