We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Amarillo
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Altus
1 review
“WOW”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Where to begin... Lets see first facility was rather dirty. Not so much the front counter area but once I started up in the stairwell/floors, nasty. Then I get in to my room (3rd floor). Looked like someone had walked through my room after doing yard work. Little bits of dead grass on the floor. There were rings on the bedside side counter where someone's drink had sat, never been wiped clean. Brand new fridge in the room, however it only works if you turn it on. Inside the fridge was as hot as outside (Amarillo, TX). Into the bathroom we go... Shower was clean sink was clean but however the shower had no power. So sorry for the rating of two (2) but can go higher than that. Last I received a military discount and and was still paying 82.99 plus a 13.52 per night tax (have no idea what a "night tax" is). I have stayed on the Vegas Strip for cheaper. If you ask why did I not go somewhere else? The entire town was booked due to Rodeo, Baseball Conference and some sort of Insurance roofing issue(s). That is all I really got to say about that. Thank you in advance for your assistance. PS: I have the receipt if you would like to see a copy to verify amount charges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    68
    44
    41
See reviews for
74
48
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel was a stop over on a cross country road trip. The hallways smelled of smoke and it seemed to be imbedded in the carpet. The room did not smell as smoky. The hotel is right off the freeway. You must enter through the Waffle House parking lot if coming from the west due to the frontage road being one way. The best part about this hotel was the breakfast. It had a waffle maker and your waffle would be in the shape of Texas. The dining area for breakfast was adjacent to the lobby so it was VERY crowded. The food was good, though. The Average review would probably go up if the smoke smell went away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moveebuff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our non-smoking room was right across an interior hallway from the smoking rooms. Everytime someone entered or exited one of the smoking rooms the smoke odor filled the hallway. The room was clean, well lit, and very reasonably priced but the offensive smoke odor prevents a higher score.

Room Tip: If smoke odor bothers you, be aware that this motel dos not provide much separation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Clean is what I appreciate most in a motel and this one met my standards. There were steps to the handicap room, but they also had a ramp which made it easier. The room was very clean. I wore white socks all evening, and they were still white when I took them off!
Breakfast was very good with hot and cold items available, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The motel is old and sort of run down - it is also in a very questionable neighborhood. It is as clean as you can get it - we have to appreciate their efforts. We were back on the road before they started serving breakfast so cannot comment on that. For the price, it was exceptable and as I said, you could tell they were trying.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#21 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amarillo

Property: Super 8 Amarillo
Address: 8701 E Interstate 40, I-40 E. & Lakeside Drive Exit 75, Amarillo, TX 79118-6932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amarillo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Super 8
Amarillo Super Eight
Super Eight Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing