We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed large parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Amarillo
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needed large parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This isn't the best hotel I have stayed at but they did have parking that can hold large 18 wheel trucks as well as moving trucks. On this particular stay I had a large uhaul and I was towing my car so we needed parking that was easy to get in and out of. The exterior is not the best looking and the halls smell of cigarette smoke but the rooms are comfortable and a good place to sleep if you need to rest your eyes after a day of driving. There was a very nice TV, microwave, mini fridge and table with chairs in the room as well. There is also the Big Texan down the access road and they offer free limo service to and from the hotel if you would like to go that route. I wouldn't choose this hotel again for staying long term but again it was comfortable for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    68
    44
    41
See reviews for
74
48
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Smoke stenched halls, a toilet that wasn't secured to the floor, small rooms, and a very small bathroom. Bed was ok, but the place seemed cheap and unkept. Would not stay at this motel again, no matter how good the price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WonnieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
249 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Have stayed here before and keep hoping service will improve but so far, no go. When we checked in, it took a few moments for me to get the desk clerk to look up from her smart phone (think she was texting someone) so she could wait on me. Then next morning, the desk clerk was busily talking to someone (I think on a CB or something) about drilling wells, life in East Texas, and/or various other things that most people in the area (breakfast area is right adjacent to front desk) don't really care much about. Finally when checking out, the same desk clerk was so busy trying to look up something for another guest (I think about a past stay and this wait went on for a full 5 minutes), that I finally gave up, tossed my room cards at him and said "guess I don't need a receipt". He didn't even acknowledge me until I left. On the positive side, the bed slept very well, there's not as much road noise as you'd expect (it's right next to I-40), and the breakfast is decent (my rating for "decent" means they serve more than cereal).

You should also be aware this is adjacent to a big truck stop and big rigs are pulling out and by the property fairly constantly. Only restaurants within several blocks are Subway and McDonalds located in the truck stop.

Room Tip: Rooms further back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Even though it's near the Interstate, we slept well. Didn't hear the noise outside.

Had a basic breakfast, though the waffle maker was broken the morning we ate.

Had two issues. The first is our door looked like it had been kicked in previously. Shutting it required a bit of effort. Second, the bathroom ceiling looked like it was about to fall down. It looked to be like water damage from the shower.

Not sure we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were just looking for a place to sleep and grab a shower on our way through. This place fit the bill nicely. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked. They had a descent breakfast with Texas shaped waffles included. The check-in was smooth and their is adequate parking.

Room Tip: The bottom floor is half underground for some reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I selected this motel with 2 goals in mind; 1) needed parking for a UHaul truck with trailer 2) pets allowed. Keeping that in mind- this place met my needs.
Pros- there is a large lot beside the motel with tons of place for parking large vehicles. It was easy to get in & out from the highway, my pet was allowed (with a pet fee) although there are signs all over the place that say "No Pets". Comfortable bed / room, Quick easy check in, decent breakfast including eggs,biscuits & gravy, cereal, pastries, yogurt, & waffles. Window AC unit was adequate at keeping room comfortable.
Cons- Older building in need of repairs, freeway noise, a charge for the safe

Room Tip: I would definitely request a room towards the back of the motel to try to minimize freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel10069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#21 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amarillo

Property: Super 8 Amarillo
Address: 8701 E Interstate 40, I-40 E. & Lakeside Drive Exit 75, Amarillo, TX 79118-6932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amarillo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Super 8
Amarillo Super Eight
Super Eight Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing