We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed at all....”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Impressed at all....”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked her vs where I usually stay in Amarillo bc of the boastful reviews read on this site, boy was I wrong. We booked through choice privileges and I soon realized they booked the wrong type of room for us, which that choice privileges fault not the hotel, but when we tried to change our reservation we were given the run around.The hotel said they couldn't change it and Choice said they couldn't change it...so we eventually had to have choice call the hotel to get it changed...and we were actually trying to get a jacuzzi suite compared to the regular room we were booked by mistake! Sorta felt like I was having to beg them to take my money in a sense! They got that fixed but I ended up having to pay tax twice. The room I booked through choice originally, had already been calculated with tax, when I upgraded my room tax was then calculated again for the entire new rate...pretty annoying, and when i told the desk clerk Becky, she said I was wrong and I only paid tax once which was incorrect. Lets move on to the Hotel though. Carpets seemed dingy throughout the hotel, beds were lumpy and somewhat hard, the hall ways are EXTREMELY narrow, our "Jacuzzi Suite" was very sub-par for a $149.99 per night room. Blankets on the bed were worn, The caulking that sealed the edges of the jacuzzi were lifting where there was a gap that water seeped into the walls all around it. GROSS. Walls all around the Jacuzzi were dirty! Walls in the hotel and rooms were dirty!! I just felt like what should have been a relaxing experience in a jacuzzi suite turned into us debating on whether or not to even get in it bc the whole place just seemed DIRTY!!!!!!!! Breakfast was average, definitely avoid the eggs and sausage gravy though. Have to say the cleanest part of this hotel was the Pool area, but be careful the tile surrounding it is EXTREMELY SLICK and they are very generous with the CHLORINE! I wouldn't stay here again if I had a gun held to my head. Much better choices for the money in Amarillo!

Room Tip: Comfort Suites in Western Plaza is wonderful and you can find great rates on Kayak! Great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaytlin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am so sorry that your experience with the Sleep Inn and Suites was not what you wanted. I did credit back your account to the original rate you booked. I checked your bill and there was no double charge for tax. You were charged a larger tax amount due to a higher rate but not double charged. Either way that has been corrected and credited back to your card. I will have my maintenance engineer go through the room you were in because what you describe is not at all the normal experience for our hotel. As for the pool I am surprised you noticed any chlorine since we have a salt water pool. That is something I will also have checked. We want nothing more than to have all our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am sorry that we were not able to provide you with the experience that we try to deliver each and every time. Safe Travels and we would love the chance to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    215
    61
    16
    10
See reviews for
212
235
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great place that is new and clean. Great breakfast and handy location. Right on the access road for I-40 and easy in and out. Mall is at the same exit. Stay and you wont be disspaointed. Also check out Palo Duro canyon and/or the AQHA museum...both are must see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to see positive reviews about our hotel. All comments are important to us. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room we had was very clean (except for shower head) with super nice furniture but it was way oversized for the small room, making room seem cramped. Bed was ultra-comfortable. Indoor pool and hot tub also were clean and enjoyable, but beware of the slick tile around them. Front desk staff is exceptionally good at their jobs. Great customer service! Worst thing about the stay was it was very noisy due to thin walls. Also, free hot breakfast was so-so.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 106, which is near the ground-floor pool/hot tub. Might be quieter farther from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonInColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope that all our guests have a great and positive experience. We wish you safe travels in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had trouble with our GPS finding the Motel, but once we arrived we had a good stay. Located next to the Outback, used there address, (Outback) to find the Sleep Inn. The wind was a blowing but we did not notice it in our room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwoodcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and it's online reputation. Thank you for helping us continue to do that. I look forward to see you in our hotel again. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As a retired couple, my wife & I take lots of trips. We had just been to Scottsdale, AZ where we stayed a couple of days at an expensive resort hotel. To help us select where to make our reservations while in Amarillo, I went on the Internet to read reviews of hotels/motels. I found this hotel had rave reviews from recent guests. I made our reservations at this location and was pleased that the excellent ratings it got from others were to our mind, the same as ours.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I love it when our nice Sleep Inn and Suites can be compared to big resorts. My team works very hard and takes all our reviews seriously. We pride ourselves on offering a four star experience at a 3 star price. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I hope that we have the chance to serve you again. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a pleasant change! After several disappointing stays at the La Quinta Inn off I 40, I vowed to never stay there again. So after checking trip advisor we decided to give Sleep Inn a try...and we'll be customers from now on. Sleep Inn was clean, comfortable, quiet. Did I say clean? Yes, I did, because contrary to what we'd been told at La Quinta there does not appear to be mold in all bathrooms in Amarillo! Sleep Inn Staff was accommodating; breakfast was nicely done with an adequate variety, and there was plenty of seating. Try Sleep Inn for a good nights sleep!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want all our guests to have a great experience and I am glad that we made you new Sleep Inn and Suites believers. Next time your in Amarillo please to not hesitate to ask to Speak with the General Manager. I would love to have the chance to meet you and thank you personally. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Room was updated and very pretty and extremely clean!! Great bedding. Granite counters in the bathroom. Bathroom was very spacious! If they would just upgrade the mattress it would be as nice if not nicer than Hampton Inn. Breakfast has much to offer to just about everyone. Manager was very nice at the desk. Easy check in and easy check out. Also has a very NICE fitness room. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StJohn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor R, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Our reputation online is very important to us. We read all our comments and take each of them to heart. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our mattresses. All of our rooms have a very nice pillow top Serta and then we place an additional topper on the mattress as well. I will take your comments and they will get our full attention once we replace our current bedding. Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 73 in Amarillo
366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.7 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#37 of 73 in Amarillo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 6915 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
#7 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn and Suites is located on the south side of Interstate 40. We have an indoor heated pool, hot tub and a free hot breakfast. Our Sleep Inn and Suites is located within walking distance of many restaurants which include Hoffbrau Steakhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Pizza Hut Wingstreet, China Star Oriential Buffet and CiCi's Pizza. The Sleep Inn and Suites is a 2012 Choice Gold award winner which places us in the top 10% of Sleep Inns. We hope that you will love our Sleep Inn and Suites as much as we do!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Amarillo
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing