We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoffbrau Steaks

Hoffbrau Steaks
Ranked #5 of 501 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering Fort Worth and the famous Stockyards area. We now proudly serve Gold Canyon Premium Black Angus beef, and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Let us help you plan your perfect event in our "No Bull" party room. Nestled around the fireplace you'll feel warm and welcome from your first bite. Our party room can seat up to 50 but can also be perfect for 12. Happy Hour is from 3PM to 6PM on Monday through Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Since I had a chance to stay at Amarillo, after checking on reviews on Trip advisor, we decided to try Hoffbrau for first time.

It was around 4p.m. Saturday, and even though it was in between meal time, there were many customers... Probably because it was the Father's day weekend.
We were seated right away, and in no time, nice sever came to take orders.

Inside the restaurant was decorated with many interesting things... like ramp shade was made out of wind turbines (you see them on top of roof of some houses), if you look up to the ceiling, there are many old doors/storm doors/screen doors... nice conversation piece while waiting.

We had fried okras for appetizer. We are used to fried okras sliced small round shape and battered with cornmeal, but their fried okra was sliced vertically and battered with flour, and came with creamy dip. It surprised me a bit at first, but they were so crispy and delicious!!

My husband had rib eye steak, and I had sirloin. Both were cooked just great. I liked that they were not over seasoned. I really enjoyed the flavor of the meat.

We also ordered spicy blackeyed peas,it was also very tasty. It has a little bite to it but not too spicy. It tasted so good, we enjoyed it to the last bit of the juice.

Had double fudge chocolate brownie for a dessert, and I loved that too. It was very rich in the chocolate flavor, not like the ones just deadly sweet.

Overall, we liked Hoffbrau. Nice service, great food, casual atmosphere.
When you want to treat yourself (or family or somebody else) with good relaxed steak dinner, this is a great place for that occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StinkyTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear StinkyTheCat,
Very cute name and picture.
We do thank you for the very nice detailed review and are thrilled you loved us. We use fresh ingredients for everything and that is why you okra was not the cut version, which come frozen. Ours are fresh okra spears and they are my personal favorite appetizer. We hope to see you back soon. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    173
    63
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We ate here as it was near the hotel we stayed in while passing through Amarillo. It was a great find. The smoked sirloin steak was melt in your mouth tender. Truly one of the best steaks ever. We also had the pheasant and it too was delicious. The manager stopped by our table and chatted with us. Everyone was very friendly and the service very good. Also, the hotel, Hampton Inn & Suites, gave us a voucher for either an appetizer or dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Nancy,
We are thrilled that you loved our Smoked Sirloin, Its my personal favorite as well. Thank you for the very nice review. We wish you safe travels. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
“Great food, wait time, and service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stopped here on our way through Texas and boy were we pleased!! The atmosphere is great from the windmill lights, licensed plates, and longhorn head. The service was excellent, we had Hannah as our server and the manager helped deliver the food with a joke and a smile! The dressings for the salads are home made, the rolls are to die for, I got Sal's ribeye and it was amazing while my twin and mother got the smoked sirloin, which was equally tasty. The prices were reasonable and I would have paid more for it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllynCSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steaks, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
What a fantastic review of our best little steakhouse. We appreciate you for letting us know about your great experience and we will let Hannah know as well as the rest of our Team Amarillo.
Best wishes, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
252 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Still good after all the years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I used to go to a Hoffbrau Steaks in Denver many years ago and enjoyed it very much and the one in Amarillo is very similar is style. The atmosphere and design is very good and the restaurant is clean. We had to wait for a table in the bar and the bartender was friendly and helpful in explaining what wines and bars they had(they do have a full service bar). Our waiter was very nice and attentive to our needs. We had the jalapeno wrapped shrimp with Dr. Pepper BBQ Sauce as an appetizer and they were great. We have a "couple platter" with 2 steaks, potatoes and vegetables and the steaks were cooked to order and very tender.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Hoffbrau is Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing pretentious about lunch or dinner. Simple but well-chosen menu for people who aren't afraid of their food. From chicken fried steak to fried okra, this is an establishment you'd be proud to take your friends to. Good value with most lunch items priced at $10 or less, a bit more on the dinner menu. But an excellent meal for the money. Those on no fat, no calorie diets will want to shop elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoffbrau Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing