We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable steakhouse.”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #6 of 508 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was Voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. Family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere bordering Fort Worth and the famous Stockyards area. We now proudly serve Premium Black Angus beef, and a wide-ranging menu of chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers. We love to cater weddings, birthdays and office parties. Let us help you plan your perfect event in our "No Bull" party room. Nestled around the fireplace you'll feel warm and welcome from your first bite. Our party room can seat up to 50 but can also be perfect for 12. Happy Hour is from 4PM to 7PM on Monday through Friday. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
mundelein
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great affordable steakhouse.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Fun little place, cool outside, atmosphere. Loved the fried okra app, good steaks, great Mac and cheese, sausage. They do a sweet dr. Pepper BBQ sauce. We all enjoyed our food. Friendly staff. Only $40 for four of us, but we split some items, huge portions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank richardtg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    183
    68
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We usually love to go here! Today ruined it for us. We waited nearly 40 minutes for our waitress to come and tell us our food is "almost ready." Twenty minutes later, she comes out and tells us the printer paper was being changed at the time our order was printed so it was never made and the cooks were starting on it now. She did comp a free app and dessert, but the initial lie was what did it for us. She gave us a standard line about the food and never actually checked on it to begin with. When we got our food about 20 minutes later, we ended up just asking for to go boxes and our ticket as we were wanting to get home at this time. It took our waitress about 10 more minutes just to bring us those as well. If you want to spend an hour and a half waiting for a burger and fries, this is your place. If you have a life you want to get to, this isn't.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so sorry that our server did not take good care of you. A Manager should have been notified. We appreciate you letting us know. Best, Rainey Fogiel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Perfect steak, friendly staff. Fried okra pretty awesome too! We try to hit this place up every time we come through town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynettemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you Lynette for the nice review of our best little steak house in Texas. Safe travels. Rainey Fogiel, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“casual and good”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our meals and drinks were delicious. Our waitress pleasant. Great steaks, casual dining. The decor is also fun to look at.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Marie,
Thank you for reviewing our best little steakhouse in Amarillo. We hope to see you back again. Best wishes, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Since I had a chance to stay at Amarillo, after checking on reviews on Trip advisor, we decided to try Hoffbrau for first time.

It was around 4p.m. Saturday, and even though it was in between meal time, there were many customers... Probably because it was the Father's day weekend.
We were seated right away, and in no time, nice sever came to take orders.

Inside the restaurant was decorated with many interesting things... like ramp shade was made out of wind turbines (you see them on top of roof of some houses), if you look up to the ceiling, there are many old doors/storm doors/screen doors... nice conversation piece while waiting.

We had fried okras for appetizer. We are used to fried okras sliced small round shape and battered with cornmeal, but their fried okra was sliced vertically and battered with flour, and came with creamy dip. It surprised me a bit at first, but they were so crispy and delicious!!

My husband had rib eye steak, and I had sirloin. Both were cooked just great. I liked that they were not over seasoned. I really enjoyed the flavor of the meat.

We also ordered spicy blackeyed peas,it was also very tasty. It has a little bite to it but not too spicy. It tasted so good, we enjoyed it to the last bit of the juice.

Had double fudge chocolate brownie for a dessert, and I loved that too. It was very rich in the chocolate flavor, not like the ones just deadly sweet.

Overall, we liked Hoffbrau. Nice service, great food, casual atmosphere.
When you want to treat yourself (or family or somebody else) with good relaxed steak dinner, this is a great place for that occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StinkyTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear StinkyTheCat,
Very cute name and picture.
We do thank you for the very nice detailed review and are thrilled you loved us. We use fresh ingredients for everything and that is why you okra was not the cut version, which come frozen. Ours are fresh okra spears and they are my personal favorite appetizer. We hope to see you back soon. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing