We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and it's a great choice for a weekend stay. The check-in procedure requires parking at the bottom and carting everything to your room first...then parking. The only problem we had was our key rooms both stopping working and we couldn't get into the building without calling the desk. The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool, which is something that would have added immensely to this property. I booked the downtown location because it would be easy to get to everything and we like going out in the evenings for drinks. The night-life is almost non-existent downtown. We had drinks at Acupulco across the street then Rain (inside the Paramount) the next night and made do with what we had. The view from the 9th floor was awesome, so if you want a view just ask for the highest floor available and they'll put you there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Cold417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our beautiful view and historic building are the perfect combinaton to a relaxing weekend. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here one (week)night when passing through Amarillo. The area of downtown was a ghost town - we drove down the interstate for dinner. The hotel itself is typical Courtyard, clean, spacious rooms. Front desk was helpful. Because the area doesn't have the safest feel, I was happy to see the parking garage.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

During your next visit I hope you have time to enjoy one of the locally owned resturants located within walking distance of the hotel. Complimentary garage parking is availabe for all registered guests. Thank you for staying with you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent two nights at this property and can't say enough good things about it. Had a corner city view king suite.The only things that need tweaking are the hours of the cafe...they should get room service because the food in the neighborhood ain't that great. Expand the menu another 4 or 5 items and stay open til Midnight for those getting in around 9...by the time you are getting your bags down and into your room...they are closing downstairs.

The parking situation is a bit annoying with no elevators on each level so everything must be packed and unpacked from a few available parking spots outside the garage door exit from the hotel.

It is a BEAUTIFUL and historically rich hotel and definitely would stay again. Just avoid Acapulco Mexican Restaurant across the street. Horrible food and service. It needs a Bar Rescue episode done. Place smells horrible too.

Ice machine on the 10th floor was broken so that was truly the only annoyance having to go to other floors to get ice and the TV in our room causes you to have a sore neck the way it is positioned to watch it from bed.

Room Tip: Corner King City View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheWatchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Our Historic Hotel is one of many historic properties located in downtown. I hope you had the opportunity to visit our Courthouse located a few blocks away. During some of the summer months on Wednesdays you can enjoy lunch and live music on the Courthouse lawn. We have several local restaurants within walking distance, we hope you have the opportunity to try one of these on your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The room is large and open. Two queen beds and a pull out couch. Bathroom is updated and clean. Slept very well. Didn't hear any noise from the hallway or neighbors. There were lots of clubs across the street. Very noisy when we came in but we could not hear it in our room. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank TexasFamiy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us, please visit us again. Palo Duro Canyon is only 30 minutes away and we have several events in the upcoming months downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was very nice. It had a couch in a living room area that was so comfortable that I fell asleep on it for several hours. The size of the room is perfect. Beds are also extremely comfortable. Very good location near the freeway but far enough not to hear it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twiztidchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Amarillo. Our downtown location is typically very quite and peaceful away from the highway noise. Please visist us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown was wonderful. The room was very spacious and the view great! The bed was so comfortable and the room and hotel were very well appointed and clean.
This hotel has such amazing history and the owner has taken the time to keep the character of the hotel but also update it with no expense spared. The manager of the hotel took the time to tell us about the history of the hotel and the area around it. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating.

The downtown area is very quaint and a really good mexican restaurant is across the street called Acapulco. In the hotel, itself, there's a nice roomy sitting area and a Starbucks/breakfast area.

I will definitely make a point to stay at this hotel when I come through Texas again. I encourage you to plan a stop in Amarillo and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and there were 10 floors. It's nice to be up higher because you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are pleased to have the opportunity to discuss our Hotel history with you. We are very proud of our Historic Building and it is always our pleasure to share it's history and role in development of downtown Amarillo. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in downtown Amarillo; I was extremely impressed with the property! The hotel is in a historic building that has been completely renovated inside; it is beautifully appointed and very clean. My room was spacious and felt new and fresh. The staff was very friendly and helpful; all take pride in the hotel. Clearly they give attention to each detail to provide a wonderful stay. The GM took time to tell me the history of the hotel – very cool! Starbucks on site and great Mexican restaurant across the street (Acapulco). If you ever find yourself close to Amarillo I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoTrailRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylGH, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel and had to the opportunity to try some of our local resturants and enjoy Starbucks in the Bistro. Thank you for sharing your experience and we invite you to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown

Address: 724 South Polk Street, Amarillo, TX 79101
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#9 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £94 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown is where History Meets Modern! Situated in the historic Fisk Building, built in 1927 and fully renovated to open as Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown on December 31, 2010, our hotel in Amarillo, Texas offers superb accommodations in the heart of downtown. We feature 107 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, and we now showcase a new Courtyard Refreshing Business Design with the Bistro Restaurant proudly serving Starbucks Coffee. Visit us and allow us the opportunity to show you Amarillo Hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing