We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel with rude staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor hotel with rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited this hotel in early August as part of our Route 66 trip across America. We stayed in 8 hotels and all agreed that this was by far the worst. We were very disappointed.

On arrival, we entered the foyer and saw a nice water feature and a front desk. The lady on the front desk was ok but we forgot to ask directions to the Big Texan Steak Ranch. I turned to a lady walking around in the foyer area and asked if she worked there. "No, I just wear this shirt for fun", she replied. Lovely. I would say that we don't speak to people like that in England but fortunately we had the experience of staying in 7 other hotels on this trip and every member of staff we met was polite, courteous and friendly.

As far as our room was concerned, we had a lovely view of the bins from our window. The beds were tiny, as was the room, but the pillow choice was a nice touch, as was the folding of the hand towel in the bathroom in the shape of a shirt and tie - very clever!

Breakfast was ok but sadly soya milk is "not something they offer". Don't have allergies if you ant to stay here then!

All in all, a disappointing stay, especially when compared to the great hotels we stayed in and awesome people we met across the US. We would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the bins. The alternative will not be scenic anyway though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_saviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
dan_saviola,

I want to start by just saying I am so sorry for what was said to you. I can't imagine who on staff would dare say anything like that to you. As you can see we have many reviews that raved about how great our staff is, this of course is unexceptable and I really want to do what ever I can to make what happen up to you and make sure this type of thing never happens to you or any other guest ever again. I have tried to investigate more on the situation and haven't been able to gather anything, with your help I would like to idenify who this person was, so proper steps are taken. I am not able to contact you per tripadvisor , but if you could contact me at cblair@ramhotels.net I would love to get more details from you and fix what happen. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope to hear back from you soon.

Thank you,

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    109
    43
    34
    24
See reviews for
175
104
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Participated in a conference at this hotel and it was a wonderful facility. The check in process was great as was check out. Rooms were lovely and easy to maintain a comfortable temperature. The lobby is a wonderful place to enter and feel like you are in for a welcome experience. The breakfast was excellent each morning. The conference rooms were a little cold, but it was also cooler than normal in Amarillo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photojoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Walk into the lobby and a wonderful experience is about to take place. The open space is really appealing.. The staff is friendly as soon as you enter door. The bar is where I like to spend my time. This choice is mostly because of Kristi. She has a personality that is friendly and professional. A pet peeve of mine is good service,not only for me ,but for others no matter where I am. I just notice things. As far as I can tell, Kristi excels in providing good service and making sure the business is going smoothly no matter what problems arise.
Flame Bistro is a very good place to get a good dinner and the service is great , and the menu is diverse, which is a good thing. I would recommend people to give you a try..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
urkal,

WOW.. Thank you so much for the great review!! We strive to have the bar be a fun place to hang out and feel Kristi does help us do so. Thank you for the feedback and will be sharing your kind words w/her. I hope we see you again soon.

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Spent six days at this location while visiting family in Amarillo. The Hotel was clean, excellently staffed and more than comfortable. From the time we entered, we were treated like special guest. Our room was ready and we were settled in, in short order. The free breakfast was super and the free gift of a snack and drink was a thoughtful addition. The pool area was clean and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day. The only down side was that the entrance was a little difficult to find. There is some construction next door, but other than that the hotel site is great with plenty of parking in what appears to be a safe and secure area.
There are plenty of places close to eat at and the movie theater next door is a pleasant plus. Its close proximity to I-40 makes it easy for travelers to get to.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators have less noise and are closer to stairs in case of an emergency. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Geatley,

Thank tyou so much for the review! I am sorry for the construction issue, but glad we were able to take such good care of you. Thank you again and hope to see you very soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

First impression waa wow! lobby was beautiful with modeen decor and water walls! Gorgeous new "green" hotel. Beautifully decorated, LED lighting everywhere, earth friendly materials. Rooms very made for comfort: our room had a micro kitchen with counter, fridge, sink; shower had shelves to set things on; beds were like sleeping on a cloud. TV in the bathroom, refreshments available around the clock in the lobby, complimentary water and cookies on arrival. This hotel wanted us to be comfortable! And we were!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazypilotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
WOW! What a great review! You are right, your comfort and making you feel at home is what we strive for.. That really makes us feel warm inside when we read feedback like this. Thank you for taking the time to write such great words and giving our hotel a chance! I hope we are able to see you a gain very soon!

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

standard chain amenities. newly built. good, clean and functional. Holiday inn has come a long way from the beaten up image 10 years back. Self service Breakfast buffett has a few wait staffs to help out and actually catered to my two grand kids who are under 5. Lots of chain restaurants choices within 1/4 mile. Extremely convenient if you are passing through looking for lodging and food for a night. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hohoho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
hohoho1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. it is great to hear you had such a good stay, I am sure the breakfast servers enjoyed your grandkids more then you can imagine, they are loveable like that. I do wish to know what we can do to earn your 5th star on your next visit. I am not allowed to contact you per tripadvisor, but my email is cblair@ramhotels.net if you would like to give us feedback on how we can better your stay. Thank you again and hope to hear from you soon.

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel appeared to be fairly new. Located in a hotel corridor with numerous restaurants and shopping areas very close. Parking lot was large and well lighted all night. Rooms were well appointed and clean. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast area was more like a upscale cafe. Very clean and large enough to comfortably seat a large group. Again, breakfast staff were attentive and friendly. Hot breakfast with the usual fare. Hotel is located just off the interstate and easily located. Oddly, there is also a Holiday Inn Express very near this hotel if you prefer. I can recommend this hotel and would choose again should I be traveling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawyer9813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cody b, Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Sawyer9813,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. My only concern is that we strive to earn all 5 stars and would really like to do so for your next trip to Amarillo. I am unable to contact you per tripadvisor rules, but my email address is cblair@ramhotels.net. I would love more feedback on what we can do better. Thank you again and I hopew we are able to see you again very soon.

Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo
#23 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 8231 Amarillo Blvd West, Amarillo, TX 79124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Panhandle's only Hotel that offers an indoor Waterslide, Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI, and offers Free Hot Breakfast to our guests. Flame Mexican Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs and Home Made Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant and waterslide hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Hotel offers free a free airport shuttle and transportation within a 2 mile radius. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing