We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little far out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Hirwaun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little far out.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Sixth stop on our Route 66 tour.
An excellent hotel with spacious, comfortable and spotless rooms.
The only problem was you had to travel to see anything else.
Don't bother taking the free limo to the Texan Steak House. The food is horrible and not worth the time or effort.
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merlinaphirwaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    111
    43
    34
    25
See reviews for
176
107
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel with friendly employees. Other than the free breakfast, avoid the restaurant The food was horrible. The lobby is very nice and the desk clerks were super friendly, as was the lifeguard and the waitress in the restaurant. This is a great hotel if you are just stopping for a good nights sleep on a roadtrip but not in a scenic area. It is right off the highway and not at all in a scenic area. The beds were super comfortable and the room was large, clean and quiet. the bathroom was very nice! Like a previous reviewer, our room also smelled of smoke upon entering! They sprayed air freshener but it only helped for a while. The hotel was booked so they were not able to give us another room. My kids LOVED the indoor pool with the water slide.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Upon arrival and opening the door - the room smelled like smoke. The night manager was very nice and sprayed something in the room- which worked for like an hour. Every time the window unit came on - it blew cold smoke air about. Very uncomfortable for two adults and two small children trying to just get a good nights sleep to break up a long vacation drive home. I again mentioned to the AM clerk upon check out and she just stared at me and said "I'm Sorry". Never a mention of doing something about it, partial credit, moving rooms, something, anything. Unacceptable with the amount of choices to be had.
We chose this as it had a pool with a slide for the kids to get their energy out mid drive. We were able to swim for about 10 minutes before 4 teenagers came and repeatedly went off the slide. It is a small pool and it became so wavy (as they were too big to be doing so in my opinion - especially one after the other) that it became to "rough water"s for my kids to swim. My youngest was upset. Another family with small children also left the pool. Could not wait to leave. Pro was breakfast was free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol201412345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear carol201412345,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not located in a very scenic spot, but the hotel is a gem..there is a movie theater next door, though. The bar was beautiful, and the employees were wonderful. I had one little bur, though. We were traveling cross-country with a car full of my daughter's things for college, so I called ahead to see if the hotel had security cameras in the parking lot. I waited on the line, until the woman returned saying they did have cameras and that I could park near one of them. I based my reservation on that information, but when we arrived at the hotel, I was told I had been mis-informed and that the woman was new. Weeel, she did put me on hold to ask someone else...was everyone new? Nothing happened to our belongings, but I filed a complaint and didn't even get a response to my complaint...otherwise I would have rated it Excellent.

Room Tip: The indoor pool had a twirly slide which looked like fun for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C1963FGlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel in Amarillo that I have stayed in. The room was very clean, and updated. We stayed on the bottom floor and it was very quiet, clean, and comfortable! The breakfast had a variety of things to choose from and was free! I highly recommend staying here if you ever pass through!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CM2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a soccer tourney for one night. We have five kiddos so we got the room with two doubles plus a pull out sofa. We brought air beds as well. Disappointed a little because when we got there their computers were down so we could not check into our room until late. However, they have a pretty cool swimming pool for kids with a slide so that kept the kiddos busy for a couple hours. Once their computers were back up they put us in the wrong room, then said they fixed it and put us in a room with just two doubles but no pull out sofa. When we complained they said they were out of that room. What's the point of reserving a room if they don't save it for you? Anyway we would prob stay again just for the pool and hope for no computer problems!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Amanda A,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our pool.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience and the room confusion. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This property is one of the nicer Holiday Inn properties. Everything is new and up to date. The front desk staff was extremely efficient and was ready for our arrival. It was late so we decided have cocktails and eat in the bar. Matthew was our bartender/server. Very attentive and and made sure we were satisfied at every turn. We will definitely stay here the next time we are I'm town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 8231 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Panhandle's only Hotel that offers an indoor Waterslide, Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI, and offers Free Hot Breakfast to our guests. Flame Mexican Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs and Home Made Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant and waterslide hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Hotel offers free a free airport shuttle and transportation within a 2 mile radius. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing