We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The history o Wild cat bluff is wonderful if you are a western culture history buff”

Wildcat Bluff Nature Center
Ranked #25 of 48 things to do in Amarillo
Attraction details
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The history o Wild cat bluff is wonderful if you are a western culture history buff”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This habitat was actually where wild cats roamed and lived for centuries, This is the area where the historic" Frying Pan Ranches" occupied back in the 1800's...at one time it was all Indian territory because white men dare not endure the harshness of the land...it has been kept natural and now is part of the Texas Plains Historical Society with the addition of the Qua nah Parker Arrow...you have to see this!!! A 25 foot arrow has been erected in his honor and the Parker family came recently to bless the site of the arrow. Comanches roamed here until the white men came with"progress"...it is a historical site and very interesting if you know the history of the site...This is the wild west...so look at the beautiful rolling plains...untouched, kept as natural as it can possibly be....Where else can one say...I have been where no man wanted to go and where Qua nah Parker the last great Comanche Indian Chief has been honored..it is a great day trip but be prepared to make your own discoveries and say"Hey I've been there"!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Apachegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
“Great place to experience the High Plains”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I am a longtime resident of Amarillo who has grown up with Wildcat Bluff. I love the nature trails, the wildlife that hangs out along the creek bed and the various events they have held in the past. I am looking forward to more engaging, educational events in the future.

Tim

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank incontinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Field Trip Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was the worst experience for our children. The tour guide was rude and hateful to our children. He told the children to shut up several times, and even got down to one child's eye level to tell him to shut up. Our children have stated that they never want to go back to Wild Cat Bluff because of that mean man.
Its a shame that such a beautiful place can be ruined because of one person's lack of professionalism.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They are frauds”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I paid for my daughters Girl Scouts to have a tour and they did not even show up for their tour and just told them to walk around like it was nothing and and it hurt the girls feelings waking up early just to be blown off by fraud

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Joshharper944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The exibits in the building are ok.”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

It's the trails that you want. These give you an idea of what the panhandle looked like before it was tamed.Go on a day that is not going to be too hot, take water, wear jeans not shorts, watch for snakes,and take an allergy medicine if you have allergies. But most of all ENJOY!

Helpful?
6 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildcat Bluff Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Wildcat Bluff Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing