We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice; friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice; friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Quiet location (set back from main roads, and nothing else next door), open only 4-5 months ago. Very comfy bed and room, everything very clean, contemporary design. Three Mac/PC computers and a printer off the main lobby very handy (although counter is too high for true comfort). Need bath towel rack or another towel hook to hang towels to reuse. Everyone very friendly. Special shout out to Amanda for readily switching my room due to noisy neighbor and non-working TV. Avoid room 221 (and those on each side?) because the view is solely of the top of the front porch roof, over front entry (noisy), and windows don't open. Standard HI breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TashaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    167
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
240
198
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Wow! I'm impressed!

When I found out that we were staying at a Holiday Inn Express, I was definitely less than excited. I travel a lot for work and I'm used to staying at Ws, Westins, Marriotts, etc, hotels that are definitely on the more upscale side. In my head I thought that Holiday Inns were definitely on the low rent side, and that you got what you paid for. Man, was I wrong! This place is SUPER nice, on par, if not better than many of the places I stay for work. It does help that this particular property is brand spanking new. We were blown away upon entering the lobby. The ambiance that they've created in really sleek and upscale with cool lighting, furniture, and even a water feature.

My husband and I stayed in a King suite, which means that in addition to the sleeping area, we had a sitting area and a tiny kitchenette equipped with a sink, an empty mini-fridge and a microwave. The room is very well appointed with dark wooden furniture and cool accent colors. I felt like I was staying in a swanky boutique hotel in a major city. Another highlight was the breakfast they served every morning. It was quite good! Delicious and fluffy scrambled eggs (not hard like a lot of buffet breakfasts), super thin and crispy bacon, delicious and soft potatoes, make your own toast and English muffins, yummy biscuits, coffee. They had a bunch of other items I didn't try too, like pancakes, warm cinnamon rolls, yogurt, cereals, juices, etc... The hotel also boasts a pool and hot tub, which we didn't use, and a tiny gym with maybe 5 machines in it, but if you wanted to run or use an elliptical, you're covered.

They've added a lot of nice touches. If you leave early in the morning, there are Nutrigrain bars and bottles of water on a table near the exit...perfect if you didn't have time for breakfast. They have a mini market in the lobby with things like candy bars, chips, energy drinks, water, etc... Their small business center is equipped with Macs (bonus points!). There is a laundry room for guests to use with one washing machine and one dryer, at least on the 4th floor. I kept being surprised by the attention paid to the guest experience.

I only had a couple of teeny tiny issues during our 5 night stay. The quality of the towels was sub par...they were really rough and didn't feel good on my skin, but they were very clean, so that's good. My second complaint is that in an effort to be "green" they had us reuse our towels and on more than one occasion I unfolded a towel that they had folded that was still wet. I didn't appreciate that one bit.

Please note, there are a ton of Holiday Inns in Amarillo. In fact, there is literally one across the road from this one that I could see from the parking lot! So just make sure when you're making your reservation that you've got the right place. The location is really convenient right off of I-40 and near the Westgate Mall. I would most definitely stay here if I ever need to be in Amarillo again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I have taken lately to staying at Holiday Inn Express on our recent road trips. They're always very clean, well managed and great value. But this one in West Amarillo sets a new standard of excellence. Our room was of contemporary design and furnishing; the staff and manager were extremely friendly and welcoming; and the morning breakfast was terrific. We ended up staying in Amarillo longer than expected but this hotel made it a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Dear :

Although this may be an overlooked task, I feel that I must bring to your attention the outstanding hospitality and customer service we received at your hotel.

My clients and I, of course, were very delighted with your hotel amenities and had a wonderful experience from your salt water pool to the VOSS water offered to us. Your staff went above and beyond with their professional and courteous attitude, and exceeded our expectations. I have a personal motto to under-promise and over-deliver and your staff did just that; complete customer satisfaction.

I am proud to say that I will continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Suites Amarillo West every time I visit Amarillo, Texas.

Sincerely,

Marcus Tinnell
CEO
Ashmarcent Entertainment
Las Vegas Nevada

Room Tip: #427 that's where I stayed but honestly there isn't a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
657 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Brand new place that you have to see to admire just how nice a Holiday Inn Express can be.

Everything is new and staff seemed eager to please. Parking lot is huge.

Restaurants were a little ways away, but easy to find. Did not take long to get there and be back.

Computers that actually worked were in the lobby and neat furniture/wall treatment made the decorating off the chart.

This place will be a tough act to follow for all---its that nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This HIX has only been opened late last year. It's not really within walking distance of restaurants or shops but those can be easily accessed by car (there is a huge outdoor mall across the Interstate). Check-in was a very positive experience with some pleasant laughter. The room was immaculate and very modern and the kitchenette was a nice feature.
As we walked in without a reservation (we were on a Route 66 trip and never knew where we would stop the next night) the price was probably a bit higher than usual. Our first attempt for breakfast failed as there was a bus load or two of kids and youths. When we re-attempted about 30 minutes later it was much quieter, unfortunately some of the food items had not been restocked - probably because it was near the end of breakfast time. It would have been nice of the accompanying people to tell the kids/youths to keep the noise down - especially in the later evening. It was annoying enough but just as we were about to complain to reception the noise died down.
All in all - I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The staff and management of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Amarillo West are the best I've encountered. From the first day in this new hotel, they took care of me and my company's every need. Extremely friendly and helpful, this is my N0. 1 choice when in west Tx. Thanks VC and Leena for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The provided amenities and atmosphere are unmatched. Each room boasts a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave. The heated salt water pool, hot tub and smoke-free environment are just the start of the Eco friendly based hotel. The spacious Fitness Center houses a variety of equipment for your individual needs. The Business Center and Meeting Room space offer ease to the traveler. The Meeting Room is equipped with a 55 inch HD and easy plug system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing