We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool doesn't open until 9 AM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pool doesn't open until 9 AM”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

When we have had, or plan, a long day of driving we go out of our way to swim.
What is the point of not opening the pool until 9 AM? They open the Fitness Center machines at 5:30 AM. (It’s the same at the East HI Express, near the Airport). I asked the Manager, Varun Chitkara, who kindly listened. Otherwise, a very nice hotel
but will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    166
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
240
197
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West. I was a little surprised at some of the sanitation issues I found while staying. I am not a germ-a-phobe, but the little things at least have to be done correctly. First, the TV in the bathroom. Grand idea until you grab the remote. Why would you have a tv in the bathroom in a public establishment?? A little different if it was my own home, but how many people have grabbed this remote while in the bathroom?? second, the work out room. I dropped in early to work out and there was a guy running on the treadmill and then moved to the workout equipment...sweating profusely. I started looking for wipes to wipe down the treadmill...hmmm...nothing there. I went ahead and just bypassed the workout and jogged around the ATMOS center to get my run in. Third, then I go to breakfast. I go to find a table and the lady wipes down a table (which I appreciate), but the rag smells soured and it was never wiped dry. So, I have dryed up rag water on my table prior to setting down my plate. I am not sure what "they are thinking?" at this hotel. The hotel is nice and new and has the bells and whistles...but, the details of cleanliness will set you over the top. I would pass on this hotel. They are just not up to the cleanliness needed in today's world.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperJoe123171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday3050, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear SuperJoe123171,

Thank You for reviewing us and bringing your concerns to our attention.I would like to take the opportunity to apologize about your experience in our breakfast area.I can assure you that our breakfast host go through intense training and the situation you experienced was one off mistake.

You have also mentioned about the TV in the bathroom and you were concerned about the remotes. Please be assured that our hotel has a sanitation program for the remotes in the bathroom where every housekeeper sanitizes the remote daily. I can assure you that the program is strictly enforced daily. In regards to your experience in our Gym, I am sorry but you may have overlooked the gym wipes at the entryway of our gym. We have now relocated the wipes centraly so that they are more visible.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention as every guest experience is very important to our hotel.

Varun Chitkara
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel has a great breakfast room with good food and the service is great. The rooms are very nice. The employes make you feel like they know you as soon as you walk threw the door and are very nice people. this is the nicest hotel i have stayed in all over the United States.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great with good beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deton, tx
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I was really suprised at the level of amenities in this hotel. The lobby is very nice and modern. The elevator only allows access to the upper floors with a swipe of the room key card. Touch the key card to the door reader and it unlocks without having to swipe it. The room has a very nice large screen TV and a smaller flat screen in the batch. Plenty of outlets are available for charging tablets, phones, etc. Great king size bed, work table with rollers to allow you to position it whereever you desire in the room. Adjustable task chair, as well. Very clean and comfortable. Near shopping and restaurants. I'll definitely stay here on my next trip through Amarillo.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tcs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I travel all over the United States and this has been the best stay, No one at any other of the motels has welcomed my company or co workers like these people have . It is cream of the crop. #1 in my books.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

ive traveled alot in the last 9 years different motel chains, alot with holiday inn express .the people @ this holiday inn express are the best ive ever seen , they greet you with a smile and how was your trip!! varun the director is a great guy he bought us pizza twice since we have been here ,ive never had any motel staff do anything like that . he makes you feel like family and goes out of his way to make sure your stay is a pleasure. journi and leena also are real down to earth staff like varun they do what is in there power to make you feel comfortable ,in a nut shell this is the best hotel of any chain ive ever stayed in!! if you are passing through amarillo stay with them you wont regret it, i will miss the hospitality here maybe this customer service idea they have will get around to other hotels

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Wow, this is a Holiday Inn. Great value, just gorgeous! Wish I could've stayed longer. Highly recommended. Note: If traveling westbound on I-40, the Cadillac Ranch (Ant Farm) is on the left shortly after entrance ramp.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank provemewrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 8330 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The provided amenities and atmosphere are unmatched. Each room boasts a wet bar, refrigerator and microwave. The heated salt water pool, hot tub and smoke-free environment are just the start of the Eco friendly based hotel. The spacious Fitness Center houses a variety of equipment for your individual needs. The Business Center and Meeting Room space offer ease to the traveler. The Meeting Room is equipped with a 55 inch HD and easy plug system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing