We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and service”
Review of The Burger Bar

The Burger Bar
Ranked #81 of 506 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Probably the second best place for burgers and hot dogs in Amarillo. I've had both and have yet to be disappointed. I'm a hot dog fan so that's what I usually get. The first time I thought I better get 2 but 1 is quite sufficient. The fries are great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice food and great service!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Service was great in here, good range of burgers, chicken and salad on offer - nice informal atmosphere and the sports on in the background!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Burger Bar,,,”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Excellent Burgers!! I would write it again! The burgers aren't dry but they don't drip grease either.. they are just right! Served open faced and taste as good as they look! The drinks are great! Their not watered down like most places. The price for a burger runs about $8 but it's definitely worth it. The staff are speedy with their service all the while providing excellent customer service with the good ol' southern charm. Very nice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamieko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Good Downtown Amarillo Eatery”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Huge portions, the burgers were very big, the side orders were also very big. The food was extraordinarily good, great waitress, looking after all of her tables. I am going back there for dinner again when I get back to Amarillo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Si3Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
238 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We visited this place after purchasing a Groupon. We normally don't spend much time downtown and weren't aware of this restaurant. We found the atmosphere very nice and fit well with the image of the downtown area and an old commercial building. The waitress was very friendly and answered all of our questions. The burgers are a half pound and hand made. The fries are fresh cut and tasty. We had the cheese fries and they were good, but unless you are really hungry only order the regular order. It was more than enough for my wife and me. My wife had the old fashioned and i had the blue cheese hamburger. Both were very good, but the blue cheese was almost too much blue cheese and took away from the flavor of the meat. We will definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burger Bar also viewed

 
Amarillo, TX
 

Been to The Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing