We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past reviews were right, this is a nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 29 November 2009

After 14 days on the road we know what clean and fresh really means. This place was really nice and it was just as past reviews advertised....great place at a great price in a central part of Amarillo. The staff was quite helpful and very courteous, and the lobby smelled like a new property. The room we had was quite comfortable and everything was in good shape. The staff let me use one of their computer cables as the facility uses a network connection. I had forgotten to bring one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Hotel next door - almost attached should be demolished. Strange people wandering the premises, some asking for money. Our room DID NOT have a window?! A/C recirculated air from hallway (hotel looked like it had been remodeled to create interior corridors). Remodel of bathroom didn't include new tub (with mold in seams), didn't include new toilet (with hole in lid) and didn't include new sink (with damaged enamel), but had new granite counter.?? My advise, if you HAVE to stay in Amarillo - don't stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Obviously there's no place like home, but this is a great stop over hotel when traveling or staying in Amarillo. Simply put the staff are friendly (especially the manager) and beyond helpful. The price is more than affordable and our room was cool, quiet and clean. They get a "thumbs up" for excellent beds, very comfortable. We normally stay at another hotel close by and have for years, but luckily for us this time around no room availability by chance led us here. As I told the manager as we checked out, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I'm scratching my head as to how this hotel gets 4- and 5-star reviews. It's a roadside motel, and quite appropriately it is only a 1-star hotel. It is what it is, and I'm not complaining about that, but 4-/5-star reviews? Please!

My initial choice for roadside motels was Motel 6. It wasn't until the last couple of years that I've found Super 8 motels to be comparably priced as Motel 6, but with better amenities. Past Super 8s that I've stayed at were quite nice actually... some rooms came with coffee table, couch, fridge, desk, and marble counter top bathrooms.

Unfortunately I can't laud this Amarillo hotel. To put it simply, it was pretty shabby. Dark dingy rooms, poor lighting, persistent mustiness, stained towels and bedsheets, a couple of roach sightings, cramped bathroom, and cheap tacky aluminum dressers, tables, chairs, and headboards made to appear like wood... sorry, but this seems well below Super 8 standards.

Since I was only here for a couple of nights, I can't totally bash it because I expected and got what I paid for. Free, high speed wifi internet and breakfast were a great bonus. Like I said, it is what it is. Don't over glorify it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

This was a nice super 8 located just off the interstate a few miles from the Big Texan Steak House, the room was fairly spacious and clean, breakfast was decent also with waffles and bagels. The location was great if you are just having a couple of nights here. Wal-Mart was conveniently just across the motorway so you can re-stock on supplies. The area seemed safe however if you are looking for something located closer to downtown / nightlife then maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beast_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We were driving from Phoenix, AZ to Wichita, KS and just needed a clean and affordable stop which the Super 8 Central provided. The desk agent was friendly and the room was clean with wireless internet and a refrigerator. Most Super 8's I'm familiar with say that breakfast starts at 6:30am but they actually set it up earlier. We left at 5:30am and there was no breakfast, but we cannot really complain about the hotel complying with its own stated policy. For traveler's passing through, it is a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveler99KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

On a recent road-trip to California I found myself looking for the diamond-in-the-rough sort of hotel: a place I could rest where I felt comfortable but that stayed within my budget. The Super 8 Central Texas was exactly what I wanted.

There are some minor cosmetic flaws...some peeling paint, a cracked tile, old furniture...but it was kept very clean and well-stocked. There were some additional amenities I hadn't been expecting, as well, including a microwave and refrigerator, which both came in handy on our trip. The walls were a little thin, but it wasn't enough to keep us awake.

In the morning breakfast was small but fresh, and the staff was exceptionally polite. Check-out went as smoothly as check-in, and we were on our way feeling very rested and refreshed. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 30Gauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 72 in Amarillo
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#41 of 72 in Amarillo
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
1.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
#40 of 72 in Amarillo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Amarillo Central TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Amarillo Central TX

Address: 2909 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79104-3503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Amarillo Central TX 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Super 8 Amarillo, our team of helpful, knowledgeable and friendly employees would like to welcome you to the Texas Panhandle and invite you to enjoy our hometown of Amarillo! We offer easy access to Interstate 40 and Highway 287 as well as convenient access to downtown. We are conveniently located near Wal-Mart and United Amigo's grocery store, several convenient stores, lots of restaurants, and several of our local attractions.We gladly welcome all of your family to stay with us, and for a minimal fee, we welcome you to include your pets in your adventures, as we have several pet friendly rooms and a large grassy area that makes them feel at home where you and your pet can enjoy a relaxing walk together. During your stay with us, you can indulge each morning with a free SuperStart Continental breakfast, including scrambled eggs, hot fresh biscuits and sausage gravy, a huge Texas shaped waffle, or delicious cinnamon rolls. While you are our guest, we will provide unlimited use of free Wi-Fi Internet access from the comfort of your room. For your convenience we offer free large-vehicle parking as well as a guest laundry facility. Each one of our cozy hotel rooms features a microwave and a refrigerator, as well as a flat screen cable TV including HBO! Don't forget, at Super 8, kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. So whether you are here on business or pleasure, we are the perfect place to kick off your shoes and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Amarillo Central TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Amarillo/Central Hotel Amarillo
Super Eight Amarillo
Amarillo Super Eight
Amarillo Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing