We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Amarillo Airport
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This Motel 6 has been refurbished. Please don't get this one confused with the one directly on the other side of Interstate 40. This one is very nice. The front desk was very friendly. The Motel was clean. The bed was a little hard, even though it was new. The flooring is a bamboo composite which is probably the best for a Motel 6. It is pet friendly. Best deal around.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52FunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    45
    30
    11
    13
See reviews for
26
30
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We look for a clean, quiet place with no frills to stay within our travel budget so Motel 6 often works well for us and this was a good one. It appeared to have been recently redecorated and was actually a very attractive room!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We were moving across country with pets, and had stayed at La Quinta properties the previous two nights. After reading the reviews of this property vs. the La Quintas in Amarillo, we opted to stay here. Big mistake.

At first glance, it looked like a typical Motel 6. Inside, the room appeared to have been refurbished. Even after finding two large spiders, we decided to stay.

We expected bare bones, but we also expect clean, quiet and a comfortable bed. I cannot say that this room had any of the above. The floor desperately needed cleaning and the bathroom certainly had not been cleaned since the last guest left.

The walls in this place are paper thin. You can hear everything in the adjoining rooms and the freeway traffic.

The only thing thinner than the walls was the mattress. It was like sleeping on a thin layer of foam over a piece of plywood.

This was the first and only place that our pets did not sleep - they were up all night. We woke up at 3am, packed our stuff and continued west - and we had driven from Erie to St. Louis to Amarillo over two days. We should have been able to sleep anywhere (if that tells you anything).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazoo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This is the place to stay if you're looking for good no-frills lodging while on the road. We decided to stay here (rather than a nearby Motel 6) because it had been recently remodeled and we were not disappointed. The a/c kept the room nicely cool. The only disappointment was that the Motel 6 on-line reservation system failed to tell the motel that I requested a first floor room - not a small matter when my wife has a medical condition that makes it difficult for her to climb steps.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G43K98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

A great price without "the penalties"

Motel6.com says that this location has recently been renovated, so I wanted to give it a try. I asked the front desk clerk for a room that's not facing the highway, since the sound of traffic is almost deafening from the front parking lot. She gave us a room upstairs facing the pool, and once we were in and closed the door, the highway noise was pretty much gone!

The room was very clean, and did not even have a trace of cigarette smoke. The flooring was all laminate, which looked liked bamboo. I appreciated this: it makes it easier for me to inspect for stains, and it's obviously easier for housekeepers to clean. All of the sheets were free from stains, and the bathroom had no noticeable traces of mold or stained caulking. They do offer wi-fi, but it's not free. The first page that popped up said $5.99 for unlimited access. I passed and settled for the usual selection of cable TV.

It's a small room, I wouldn't recommend trying to entertain children inside. The bathroom is very small, everyone had to finish getting dressed in the middle of the room. One of our beds had a good squeak to it and the toilet was going on and off. I just put our kid on the noisy bed, and turned the water off to the toilet before we went to sleep. There were a few motorcycle groups checked in, but they seemed "well behaved". Sometimes these cheaper hotels can attract a noisier crowd, but most of the other guests that night seemed to be just in need of a good night's sleep.

If they can keep these new rooms clean, I'll definitely be back with my family!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneofthemanydads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

I booked this through hotels-guides.us. I thought I paid on line but was told when I checked in, that it merely held the room. What's the point in that?
They also told me I was reserving a Red Roof Inn. It was also on my confirmation sheet as Red Roof Inn. When I called information to get the number, they couldn't find a Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. I had to call the 800 number for R.R.I. and was then told it was a Motel 6. Since it was Saturday, I was forced to keep the reservation since there was virtually nothing for miles.
The R.R.I. was supposed to have WiFi, this didn't. It SEEMS like I saw something about a continental breakfast, Motel 6 had free coffee.
Shady traffic through the parking lot late at night. They could probably use some on site security.
Neither of the front desk people could tell me how to get out to an outdoor play in Palo Duro Canyon, only the biggest tourist attraction in the Texas Panhandle. They couldn't even get me to the highway that would get me to the play.
Other than that, the room was clean and a decent bargain.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Motel 6 and not Red Roof Inn
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz78610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Stay far away from this place! After reading the reviews, we were very disapointed. This place was aging and icky. The room was small, the towels tiny and rough. The pool was old and cold. It was suppose to be heated. After a long day in the car we were ready to relax with a swim but it was too cold to be refreshing. The I-40 freeway on ramp was right outside our door. We got to listen to several sirens throughout the night. And the neighborhood was a bit unsavory for our taste. The bathroom was in good shape and clean but the carpet was not. It wasn't worth the bargain price. Pay more and stay somewhere else!

Helpful?
Thank travelinCAfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#20 of 73 in Amarillo
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
#41 of 73 in Amarillo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
1.7 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#37 of 73 in Amarillo
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 73 in Amarillo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Amarillo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Amarillo Airport

Property: Motel 6 Amarillo Airport
Address: 4301 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79104-4127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Amarillo Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Amarillo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Amarillo
Motel Six Amarillo
Amarillo Motel 6
Amarillo Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing