We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Texan Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amarillo(Amarillo)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
112
185
114
54
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
185
114
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold westwestern stylefun place to stayhorse hotelsteak challengewooden shuttersthemed roomswild west townswinging barroute adventuretexan experiencebathroom areabed coversswimming poolroom was clean and comfortablepassing through amarillocowboy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Western décor, yes, but room was dark and lighting poor. Front desk was gracious on checking in but could not get a second coffee pack so we both could have coffee in the morning. Price was fair. Convenient to highway and of course the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed on a trip back to Arizona. Was everything we imagined it would be. Our room had swinging saloon doors that led to the bathroom area. The shower curtain was brown suede with fringe, yes fringe! The rooms are old, but are clean and comfortable. The price was right $69 per room. I was a little hesitant to stay here because a few reviews say that noise is a factor. I have excellent hearing(thank goodness) and had no trouble with noise at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpietch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We picked the Big Texan Inn as we were moving from Dallas to Portland, and we thought it would be a fun place to spend our last night in Texas. Overall, it was pretty much as advertised. The Texas kitsch was a nice touch in and out. The rooms were well decorated, although small. The room A/C never really cooled the room down, As other reviewers have mentioned, The shower height is fine if you're about 4 feet tall. Also, the still have a problem with the water temp in the shower cycling back and forth on its own. My one HUGE complaint about the room is the swinging doors going to the bathroom. The idea is great, they look cool, but they are incredibly loud. It didn't matter how gently we tried, the large hinges made noise. Other than that, it was pretty much as expected. Oh, as a final note, the staff was super helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The13thMinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a cute, Western themed hotel. The front staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the hotel itself is next door to the Big Texan restaurant. The room was certainly rustic, but very dated; the ceiling, both inside and out, was damaged in places, but that may have been part of the overall feel that the hotel was trying establish. There is a "horse hotel" right behind this portion of the hotel; thus, parking was a bit of a challenge one night due to where one horse trailer parked. Comfortable bed, but I wasn't all that comfortable in this room overall. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want the "rustic" rooms, make sure you get one in the portion in front of the horse hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaClydeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Big Texan was not what I expected. I didn't read any reviews or look at any pictures before we booked our room, and maybe that's the best way to do it. We drove into the parking lot and our jaws dropped. It was just so Texas. The motel room fronts were decorated as an old western town. We stayed in the unnamed, Brown section. The bedroom was complete with brown suede everything, including shower curtain, and swinging saloon doors to the bathroom area. We loved it because it was just so perfectly cheesy. They even have a Texas shaped swimming pool. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was pleasant. One inconvenience was that the wifi didn't quite reach our room for some reason. It worked in the restaurant and outside of our room, but not inside.
We went for a drink at the Big Texan Restaurant, a just-as-cheesy counterpart to the motel. There are arcade-style shooting games, slot machines, a giant rocking chair, and even a maze. The staff is very friendly and dress like cowboys and girls. We got talking to some locals and some drifters and had a great time.
The motel and the restaurant are a bit pricey, but it's an experience you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews