We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place for a once-in-a-lifetime experience.”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our route 66 road trip. It's a pretty cool place. The room we had was fairly clean and decent size. I wasn't too fond of the bathroom lighting. The bath tub was dark once you pulled the curtains. Staff was friendly, the restaurant was good, the breakfast buffet was decent but way overpriced. Overall, Great experience, although it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Big Texan Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice Motel you get exactly what you see this was one of our stops on Route 66 in 08 and we got the sleep that we badly needed for the driving and after the Steaks in the nearby Steak House as other reviewers said you get what it looks like and it dose the job for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you're looking for a 4-5 star hotel you're not going to find it here. It's an old hotel that was new more than likely new in the 60's. The outlets need to be replaced and the rooms are dark because of the bulb size, but for some reason I enjoy staying here.

It's quite and shares the parking lot with the Big Texan restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Day 6 one night
Was looking forward to staying here but a little disapointed, whilst it has been theamed and looks fun it needs to be refurbished. It was kind of clean but is in need of some TLC.
The steak house was ok and i thought i was goint to be noisy but it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we booked the hotel because it sounded fun and the reviews werent bad. Arrived and was in disbelief at what we found. Our room was filthy and sticky...the carpets were appalling and dont get me started on the bedspread! After one hour of being in that room i couldnt take the filth anymore...we left and ended up at the courtyard by marriott downtown. Much better! The one good thing is that they gave us our money back immediately when i asked...no problems there. guess this has happend before. by the way, the room comes equipped with its very own fly swatter! What does that tell you?

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Western décor, yes, but room was dark and lighting poor. Front desk was gracious on checking in but could not get a second coffee pack so we both could have coffee in the morning. Price was fair. Convenient to highway and of course the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed on a trip back to Arizona. Was everything we imagined it would be. Our room had swinging saloon doors that led to the bathroom area. The shower curtain was brown suede with fringe, yes fringe! The rooms are old, but are clean and comfortable. The price was right $69 per room. I was a little hesitant to stay here because a few reviews say that noise is a factor. I have excellent hearing(thank goodness) and had no trouble with noise at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpietch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
3.2 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Texan Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Big Texan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing