We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Big Texan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Texan Motel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We wanted to eat at the Big Texan Steak Ranch so it made sense to stay at this motel. Our rooms were great; we even had saloon doors from the room into the bathroom area. We let the boys have the pink themed room, and we had the “cowboy brown”. The motel has a pool in the shape of the state of Texas which was cute. The motel is probably was a bit overpriced, but it is a tourist attraction after all. It’s a quirky and a fun place.

We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    182
    110
    52
    36
See reviews for
87
210
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our route 66 trip. With a little effort they could make this place really pleasant. Carpet in the room was very dirty. The lamp on the bedside table was broken not a big deal normally but the rooms are very dark. With some new paint, carpet and care it could be really cool. I gave it average because it's worth one stay for the fun atmosphere in general. Thumbs up to the restaurant though the food was great!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoal Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Average hotel. Room was fine for budget accommodation. We locked ourselves out of the room accidentaly and when we went to the office to ask for some new keys they were extremely rude and acted like we had committed a crime and slammed the new cards down on the counter and turned their backs on us. Apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhtevenChinoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a charming hotel. It is set up to look like an old Western town with different colors. In the middle of the lot there is a little dog park where you can sit and let your dog run loose. That was a very nice addition. The room was cute too. The window had shutters like you would see in an old time saloon.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your dog on a leash. There are many stray cats that roam the grounds here. They d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on our road trip home from TN to CA. It was not my first preference as we were traveling with a newly-crawling baby, but it was inexpensive and allowed pets, so it fit the bill for us. We were in the back building near the horse corals, second story. The room appeared clean, although not as fresh as I would prefer, and I pulled the bed spread off the bed as soon as I arrived because I just never know how often those are actually cleaned... We hung out in the room watching TV for about an hour before going down to enjoy the restaurant. I would say that is the biggest plus of the location of this hotel, because after 600 miles of driving that day, we had no desire to get back in the truck to find dinner or breakfast.

The air kept the room cold but we really needed extra blankets (due to pulling off the bed spread) and there were only two pillows on each bed, which meant no one really slept. It was quiet, even with most of the travelers in that building leaving before 7:30 when we finally got up to take the dog for a walk. We could smell smoke as soon as we opened the doors, as it was pouring out of some of the other hotel rooms (so weird for us because in CA there is basically no smoking allowed anywhere!).

I viewed this hotel as I viewed the Wigwams in Holbrook, AZ. They are kitschy. They are an experience. They will make your six year old son giddy with excitement. They are great for a one-night stay, and they will create awesome memories and wonderful photo ops, but they aren't a place I would stay in more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Big Texan theme certainly continues from the restaurant to the motel. The outside of the motel is painted consistent with the theme, and I really liked that; however, because of the theme, which uses a lot of wood, I felt like our room was a bit dark. One of the dark brown bed covers had stains on it, and I found that troublesome. The room was okay, and there certainly was good pressure in the shower. The coolest part for me was the wooden shutters in place of curtains.

WiFi worked well, and it was nice to have an easily accessible guest laundry as we needed one. The shape of the pool is cool; it is in the shape of the state of Texas, but we were not able to use it. It was shut down for some reason.

There is no breakfast with this room, but those staying are given $2 off the $12 breakfast in the restaurant. It was not worth it for us, so we went to Cracker Barrel down the road.

We got a AAA discount. Had we not, I would have felt like we paid way too much for the room, but with the discount, I could live with the charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We traveled the Route 66 and spend one night in Amarillo. The Big Texan Motel is a very nice place to stay. The hotel looks good and has a special western style. The rooms are also equipped with wood and western style furniture.
You feels like you are in a western movie. :-)
Opposite the motel is the Steak Ranch. Here can you eat very good steaks. When you are very hungry than can you take part in a competion. When you can eat a 72oz (2 kilo) Steak, a backed potato, a small bun, three prawns, a small salad and a soft drink within one hour, than you must not pay for your food. Good look.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flitzpiepe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
3.5 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#43 of 72 in Amarillo
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Texan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Texan Motel

Property: Big Texan Motel
Address: 7701 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6915
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Big Texan Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Big Texan Hotel Amarillo
Big Texan Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing