We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average. Terrible beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Jackson, Ms.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average. Terrible beds”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

From the outside this hotel looks great. I got checked in, the front desk clerk was friendly. However, as we walked down the hall it smelled overwhelmingly of stale cigarette smoke which is odd because this is a non-smoking facility. The beds are truly awful. No padding, not even a comforter. There is literally a sheet covered by a velour blanket, covered again by a sheet. That's it! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnJackson_Ms_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    117
    73
    32
    21
See reviews for
104
133
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Overall, our stay was fine. The room and bed were standard. The elevator was incredibly slow. The TV didn't work. I first attributed it to the passing storm, but it still was on the blink the next morning. (To be fair to the hotel, I didn't call the front desk about the issue.) Ashmore has a big ballroom that they apparently rent out for parties, and there was a huge graduation party in full swing when we checked in. This meant an overly crowded parking lot, LOUD guests, and kids running up and down the halls all night. This isn't the hotels fault, per se, but keep in mind that this is probably not the quietest or most relaxing choice of hotel. Still, the room was clean, the shower was hot, and we didn't require much more than that. The biggest down side here is the parking. Nearly all of the parking is found along the sides and back of the hotel, and those areas are quite sketchy. I was shocked that my car wasn't broken into. I fully expected it. If this place put more parking out front, restricted parking to hotel guests only, and put up more lights in the parking lot, my rating might be higher. For the price, this hotel is a decent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekate678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Ashmore Inn & Suites. It is a very clean and friendly place to stay. It is very easy to get to right off I-40. There are some good restaurant choices close by. We would recommend this place to stay, and will stay at this hotel for our next trip back to Amarillo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed one night here. To get to our room, which was non-smoking, we had to walk through a hallway filled with the smell of smoke, as well as, the elevator. The carpet in the elevator was filthy, as was the carpet leading out the door to go to the parking area. Our bathroom had a terrible stench and wasn't clean, as I found hair in it. I tried to get internet service, but gave up. The breakfast was awful! Heavy on pork gravy and sausage, but can't have real butter. What a joke! The eggs didn't look real, like fast food. Didn't have queen beds, only fulls. So, an accumulation of everything, not just one or two issues, made this a regretable stay. I am not familiar with Amarillo, but after trying to find a decent place to eat, we found much better hotels that I wish I would have known about sooner.
The staff at the desk also is unsure and only taught to get a room, nothing else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Check in was fine. The clerk was polite. When we got to our room, we found it to be a nice size. It was clean. It looked very dated, though. Tried to use the wifi, and it was so slow it was unusable. Nice to have Cracker Barrel across the parking lot for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The best part of our stay was Cracker Barrel next door. I give them credit for trying to revamp what was clearly an older hotel, but it's age still showed. The entire wing had a very stale smell and it just looked dingy. Our room also had two double beds, not necessarily accommodating for a couple over 6" tall. Served its purpose as a stop ever on our trip, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We always stay at this hotel when our baseball team plays in tourments here in Amarillo. They give our teams excellent rates and service. The staff is always prompt in requests for extra things needed and rooms are always clean and ready for us...won't stay anywhere else in Amarillo!!

Room Tip: always book early since they provide excellent rooms and service...they book fast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#31 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
6.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.9 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashmore Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmore Inn & Suites

Property: Ashmore Inn & Suites
Address: 2301 E Interstate 40, Exit 72-A, Amarillo, TX 79104-3403
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashmore Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashmore Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashmore Inn And Suites
Ashmore Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Ashmore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing