We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rate for a basic hotel. Accepts dogs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 25 December 2011

It's exactly what we wanted; a clean place to sleep with our dogs for the night.

The good: Reasonable rate. Free wifi. Accepts dogs with no fee. Park in front of your door. Refrigerator and decent bathroom.

The (not so)bad: The breakfast was very basic; biscuits n gravy, quaker oatmeal in bags, coffee, cereal, waffle maker, donuts. I know that sounds like every other continental or free breakfast but it might have been that the donuts were the mini-powdered lil debbies, I chose to get some on the road.

Otherwise good stay but set realistic expectations and you'll be a happy visitor. I will be staying there on our return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

After reading other reviews we were hesitant to stay here. But after calling and speaking with Lynn we decided it sounded good. No regrets! Everything was clean and modern. Great sleep without noise in a comfortable bed. It included free wifi and a great breakfast with homemade waffles in the shape of Texas. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the side and it was very quiet for being off the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportyacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I travel through Amarillo a lot. I've been looking for a decent budget priced hotel, and have struck out so many times, till now. This was exactly what I was looking for. A nice, clean room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, excellent wifi and low price! The sign said $49.99 and that is what I paid (plus tax, of course). This will be my stopping point in Amarillo from now on, as long as the price stays low.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

they quoted an AAA discount when I checked in then I found out later that they did not discount the room rate and would not change to charge for the room even after I showed them they should of charged a lesser amount on their own website

Room Tip: check online first if you are an AAA or AARP member to make sure they offer the discount rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLBLUEROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A clean And friendly motel located in a convenient area. The key word in this review however is Friendly. Both management and staffs service are beyond reproach. They will be shure to assist you with any needs you may have!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Lynn even fixed and served breakfast for everyone, although it was DIY which was included in the price. Great, fluffy waffles shaped like the state of Texas. I asked for other items, she happily brought them. Rooms were very nice, and the price was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Easy check in. CLEAN comfortable room. The staff was considerate, kind and concerned with our stay. Within the hour after checking in they called to see if the room accomodation was to our expectations. We were on the trip for three weeks and stayed at Red Roof each time we could. The reason we chose Red Roof Inn was because they are pet friendly. One even had laminated flooring which WAS super nice. Each Inn was in the process of updating their rooms. WE AND OUR DOGS SAY RED 'WOOF' INN ROCKS!
David n Tracy of Louisiana

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidntracybahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#42 of 72 in Amarillo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £29 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Cotulla Close to downtown Cotulla, Martinez Park, and Brush Country Museum Located halfway between San Antonio and Laredo, stop at our SureStay Hotel on your Texas roadtrip. With convenient access to I-35 and downtown Cotulla, you will find plenty of sights and sounds nearby, as well as dining options. With comfortable, convenient amenities, our hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing