We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here June 30th. The office staff was helpful, cheerful and very professional. Melissa and Gilbert are assets to the property. It is a great value for the money. Our room was clean and the AC worked very well, and that is a real plus in motels these days. The free breakfast was more than adequate, but for those that are looking for sausage or bacon, I didn't find any. Orange and apple juices, make your own waffles, muffins, donuts, coffee, tea, chocolate, oatmeal and several types of dry cereals. I didn't see any fresh fruit. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, safe, and friendly place to stay. The breakfast was plenty to get you out the door until lunch. The microwave and fridge in the room are nice, too. Comfy bed and pillows, and quiet even though we were just off the freeway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueAnnHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Have stayed at this property on several occasions and am very pleased with the value for the $. The location is a little difficult to reach when traveling west, but overall this is a very good choice for lodging in Amarillo, Texas. Would recommend this hotel when traveling through the panhandle region.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here on our way from New Mexico to Oklahoma. We had never stayed at a Red Roof Inn before so weren't quite sure what to expect. Overall, it was great. The rooms were clean and the fridge and microwave were an added bonus. Outdoor pool and the water temperature was comfortable. There were iron burns in our carpet and a poor patch job on the corner of the wall but those were the only "negatives" I could find. We didn't have time for the breakfast so I am unable to comment

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a great value, rooms were clean and service was good. I loved the variety of free breakfast items plus biscuits and gravy I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

While not fancy, this establishment offers clean rooms, a good breakfast and great service from a personable staff. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds, a microwave and mini refrigerator, cable television and free wi-fi - our room didn't have enough towels, but we just had to ask and we had what we needed. We have stayed in Amarillo several times en route to and from Colorado or New Mexico and this Red Roof Inn offers the best quality, value-priced accommodations we've found in the city.

Room Tip: Let the front desk staff know if you have any special needs and they will go out of their way to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieHDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

this place was great, clean ,quiet, excellent staff. lynn was so helpful, & knew everything we needed before i had time to ask, very friendly, would definetly stay here again.this was a great experience after traveling across 2 states, we were so tired . price was great, very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

While the rooms seemed in need of updating, it was very clean and well-put together. The staff was very nice and very texas. Breakfast was decent enough, and the Texas shaped waffles looked like a lot of fun. It didn't look like much from the outside, but for the price, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 72 in Amarillo
685 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#45 of 72 in Amarillo
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
6.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Cotulla Close to downtown Cotulla, Martinez Park, and Brush Country Museum Located halfway between San Antonio and Laredo, stop at our SureStay Hotel on your Texas roadtrip. With convenient access to I-35 and downtown Cotulla, you will find plenty of sights and sounds nearby, as well as dining options. With comfortable, convenient amenities, our hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing