We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for clean, cheap and good sleep during long road trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Webster
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for clean, cheap and good sleep during long road trip.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Had wifi that worked from room. Ice machine actually had ice;-). Hotels in Amarillo are always fully booked so booked this online before arrival and seeing it. We were a little nervous about what it'd be like...but were pleasantly surprised. Good variety of free breakfast too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitLikeAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    127
    91
    48
    31
See reviews for
97
107
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allen,Tx
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I'm usually a little leary of staying in budget hotels;but decided to try based on good reviews of majority of Tripadvisor members. Stayed one night coming back from New Mexico. We found
the room clean,somewhat worn,bed comfortable,Staff friendly. There is traffic noise since your
right off the interstate.:but during the prime sleeping hours 11:00 pm to 06:00 am it was quiet in
the room . For the money it is a good bargain .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcduff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, AZ.
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on another trip out to Oklahoma. The only really good thing I can say about this place is that I found the bed to be really comfortable. However, paying the $40 less per night than the other hotels/motels surrounding it was not worth the savings. The bathroom was super tiny and kind of gross with mold growing in the cracks and grout lines. The TV did not work well, and had static running through it most of the time. There was limited blankets on the beds and available as extras, so we froze our tushies off all night for lack of coverings (I sure as heck wasn't going to cover up with the comforter).

It's just not a comfortable property to stay at, altough there were alot of people there. I will never stay here again, and I have to say my mom was in charge of arrangements for this night - consequently on the ride home I took care of arrangements! :-)

One other thing, when my mom went in to check out the next morning the manager and the front desk staff were talking - and they completely ignored her and kept talking! My mom is an elderly lady on a cane, and that seemed terribly rude to me and not very customer friendly.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had to stay at this Red Roof Inn cause there wasn't anything else in our budget and no vacancies anywhere else that was, otherwise we would NOT have stayed here. Our car broke down and we ended up having to stay here for a week.

One of the pillows wasn't even a pillow, just a pillowcase filled with stuffing. The bed was about as comfortable as a rock. Woke up every day with a sore spine.

Slowest internet I've ever seen in a hotel, which also disconnects you about every 5 minutes unless you're transferring information constantly like a madman. That is, if you can get information to transfer at all. Yahoo email took about 10 minutes and 4 reloads for it to access properly.

No complimentary channel listing for the TV. No complimentary delivery listings for the area. Only complimentary literature is the Bible, the Yellow Pages, and two versions of books listing other Red Roof Inn locations. Gee thanks.

Their continental breakfast is a joke and they do NOT keep it well supplied during the whole 6-9 am schedule. You HAVE to be there early, because after 8 am they don't seem to care what's stocked up. Every time we went to get something to eat it was like seeing a zebra kill in the African savanna - picked clean. They did NOT do waffles every day. They only did cold cereal (lactose intolerant here), biscuits and gravy (not everyone from the South actually likes that, shocking I know), and crappy gas station mini-donuts (ugh). No fruit, no pastries, no eggs, no real breakfast. Only beverage options are orange juice and coffee. Neither are a personal favorite. The one day my boyfriend decided to cave and eat their gravy and biscuits, there were none 40 minutes before breakfast ended.

Its location right off the freeway is not "convenient," it's loud and annoying. The whole room shook when a large enough semi truck with a full load went past (or a maid with her cart). Also heard every emergency vehicle that had to use the freeway.

Paper-thin walls - had a noise complaint the first night because they're apparently too thin to stifle giggling and a little TV.

Ants in the room, however they were stupid and did not find our food supply. They came in through the window and were going along the wall to the room below us.

On top of that, they lure you in with false advertising. Their marquis ticker claims their lowest price is $49 a night. That is only if you pay for multiple nights upfront. Seeing as we were waiting on an insurance company to figure out what to do with our car, we had to pay each day as the situation developed and it's actually $60 a night after taxes.

What was OK you might ask?
The shower was good, with a shower head that did about 8 different settings. The toilet works. AC worked almost too well. Staff was friendly enough. That's about it. Not nearly enough positives to outweigh the negatives.

Thank you Red Roof Inn for a unique, craptacular experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 217. The bed and pillows are horrible. The fridge barely works, and if it isn't set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here twice when traveling between Tucson and St. Louis. It is conveniently located near the interstate and allows cats. The rooms are somewhat worn, but clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but above average for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night. This hotel is dirty outdated, furniture is broken & dilapidated We didnt walk barefooted, the carpet was gross. Di rt on the doors and walls. The pillows were hard as wood. I had to finally get rid of it!!!!! The staff was apologetic & nice, which is the only positive about the hotel. Dont be misled by the 4 star rating. It is totally false!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondatheroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

After reading the other reviews we stayed here on a trip from Colorado to Texas. The room was awful!! The carpets were dirty, the room was tiny, the towels were threadbare, the bed was hard, and the pillow was so hard that I tossed it during the night rather than get a stiff neck.
It did offer a continental breakfast, breads, cereals, waffles, biscuits and gravy, juices and coffee. I don't see how this hotel possibly ranked #11!!

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room in the annexed section at the back of the hotel. Stay away from these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 72 in Amarillo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
400 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#38 of 72 in Amarillo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing