We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend the money to find a better place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spend the money to find a better place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Although the night front desk help was very accommodating, the morning person was the complete opposite. Could not even look up to respond to a need we were addressing.
The room was clean .. but smelled very strongly of smoke although it was supposedly non-smoking. The door did not seem to provide much security. There were people up partying all night and making a lot of noise in the parking lot. We awoke at 3am to the crash of bottles that were dropped outside somewhere. My husband got up at 6am to get some coffee in the lobby and was solicited at the bottom of the stairs by a person begging for money, who said they had just gotten out of jail. The man then proceeded to try to get my husband to bring him in to the lobby for a free breakfast ..

Would NEVER stay here again. Would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review. We attempt to give every customer a five-star experience, and are very sorry that you received less. I'll look over the room scent, and make sure this doesn't happen again. The door security will most likely be renovated soon. As for the social difficulties, I am truly sorry for that, and hope you are willing to come by again so we may fix our mistakes. Thank you for your time,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    120
    90
    47
    29
See reviews for
94
101
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Friendly staff and an affordable room made this a good place to stay for a night in Amarillo. We like that they're dog-friendly too. A convenient location off the highway and a continental breakfast that's included - although the coffee was really weak the morning I was there. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again the next time we're passing through Amarillo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mia_sopapilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
I'm happy to know you are pleased with Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I appreciate your thoughts, and am grateful to know you were satisfied during your night(s) here. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Convent, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

This use to be The Magnusum. It has changed names. Going west on I-40. Exit I-40 & Ross. Go back under I-40. Take frontage road. Right next to Harbor Freight. We have stayed here numerous times. It is always clean & the people are mighty friendly. In the winter, we suggest you do not get a north facing room. It gets mighty cold in Amarillo, during the winter. The people are very accommodating. I can't say enough about this hotel. Thank y'all
For all y'all do.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
I'm delighted to know your stays with us have been positive. I appreciate you coming here often, as we do try to please our customers. You are a wonderful customer, and thank you so very much for revisiting! I wish to see you soon!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We needed a place in Amarillo and I was torn about reserving b/c of the mixed reviews. But I called ahead and the person at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. We needed two rooms b/c my parents-in-law were also along. As was the 60 pound dog. The breakfast selection was big enough to please all of them (included cereal, waffles, and bagels). The downside was the fridge in one of the rooms didn't work and the laundry room needed a little maintenance, but for just a quick stay it was what we expected given prior ratings and the price. It was definitely dog friendly, so we will probably stay there again. If there were half stars, we'd give it 3 1/2.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PMA1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
I am pleased to know you liked your stay with Red Roof Inn Amarillo. Yes, we are planning on renovating the property soon, and hope you will come to see it upgraded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Close to i 40 lots of places to eat and shop. Clean room and alot of things to do. Front desk (Sarai) are very helpful if you need anything. I stay here three times a week. Never have a problem. Breakfast in the morning coffee all day. Come check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thanks so much for selecting Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am ecstatic that you enjoy your visits with us. I appreciate your opinion. Have a wonderful day!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

My company got us this Hotel It's a great place to stay the rooms are clean & roomy lots of things.to do the store are close for walking people here very nice that work Here I'm going to tell my friends. and family about my stay here Amarillo Taxes

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I am thrilled to find that you liked your stay with us at Red Roof Inn. I wish to see you next time you come our way, and thanks for letting us know how your experience went!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
464 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is middle of the road for a Red Roof, comfortable bed decently quiet and good help. Also on the upside, "free breakfast" is included with biscuits, gravy, waffles, assorted cereals and packaged doughnuts. On the downside, the rooms are a little run down, my sink had no stopper and the free WI-FI did not work very well-weak signal.

Room Tip: Book a room on the back side as this is just off I-40. Truck parking is available in a rear lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I highly appreciate your time and effort in posting your opinion about Red Roof Inn Amarillo. We are planning on renovating the rooms, and hope you will give us a second chance as soon as we are done. As for the other concerns, I will try to prevent the same dis-comforts you received. I hope to see you soon, and if there are further questions, give us a call and I will do my best to attend your needs.

Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#29 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#44 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing