We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

It's old & run down..seemed clean but everything is so worn it just looks unclean. Asked for extra pillows & was told they couldn't give extras because only 4 per room allowed..and those are really flat..seriously? The hotel is empty & I can't get an extra pillow? Front desk staff not very friendly either. Pay a few extra bucks & stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saosassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am extremely sorry on my behalf for your difficulties. I have taken your complaints to the appropriate department, and will be sure that the issue will not arise again. Thank you for giving us your feedback, and please give us a second chance.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    120
    91
    48
    29
See reviews for
94
103
49
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We started a trip for the west and drove 9 hours to get to Amarillo and was very surprised by this property. We had free breakfast with waffles, biscuits/gravy, cereal, muffins. Sarai at the front desk very helpful and even called our room to make sure we were happy with the location and if it was clean enough. It is an older property but has some upgrades that make it rival the ones down the street for twice as much. I did see a man waiting for a ride to the airport. Not just your normal Red Roof. We have even decided to stop by on our way home. A good breakfast does wonders for a LONG trip home.

Room Tip: staying at the back helps get the freeway noise away but not a big freeway for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. It's nice to know that you were satisfied with our breakfast, and with your overall stay. Come by often, for we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We traveled 14 hrs, had many choices but tried R.R. thinking it had a good reputation. Pure room stunk soooooo badly I had to TRY to sleep with a blanket(from home) over my face. Not sure if it was mildew or urine but I did NOT get the rest I needed to continue our next 9 hrs on the road! I actually considered going to my car & sleeping rather than constantly smelling the foul smell of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Over priced for what you get. Rooms were dingy and our foot stool had a dirty boot print on it. There were rust splatters around the door hinges coming into the room. Not a very good neighbor hood either. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had never stayed at this property before and probably won't again. It's quite rough around the edges, something a renovation would probably cure. The first problem came at check in when I was given room keys and directions to the room. When I opened the room it obviously was already occupied although there was no one actually in the room at the time. There were open suitcases and food packages stacked on top of the mini-fridge. When I went back to the office the lady there was quite puzzled.. She said her computer showed the room hadn't been occupied since April. Inside the room there were cigarette burns on the bedspread and a couple of drawer handles were missing screws making it hard to open the drawers. The room itself was quite small but was suitable for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This Red Roof Inn is a bit older and a bit worn---we thought it was overpriced compared to other Red Roof Inns. Our room was clean---we had a comfortable king bed, micro, frig, recliner chair, desk, etc. Best of all, we had a room which is downstairs and outside so we could unpack easily and keep an eye on our car which was parked right in front of our room. This motel would have been a better deal for $10 less. Maybe overpriced considering the age of the facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a "down and out" room for easy unpacking and keeping an eye on your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for selecting Red Roof Inn as your choice of stay, and were happy with your room. As for the price, maybe you were coming on a weekend when rooms are limited, and therefore a bit pricier. However, I will take in your opinion and apply it to the correct area. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Value priced rooms, clean and comfortable bed. I travel half of the year for work and usually stay for several weeks to months in hotels. I don't require a 4 season hotel, just safe area, quiet, secure room, comfortable, and clean room. Red Roof in fit my needs. This hotel also has a pool, medium sized fridge, basic breakfast and is located close to many different restaurants, and several are in walking distance. Hotel is also conveniently located close to the highway for easy entry, and exit. Staff is friendly, room service changes towels every day, and services the room every other day. I am sure you can request daily service if needed. All items in the room worked, they have ample outlets for your electronic and charging needs. I have been here for two weeks going on three.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I'm pleased to know that you found everything given in the room useful, and didn't have any complaints. Thanks, and I hope you drop by again!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#26 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#34 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#41 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing