We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not where I would prefer to stay, but was pleasantly surprised. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but nice and clean inside. Not modern or new--clean!! Had a fridge, microwave and most importantly a comfortable bed. Pets stay free. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor.. A little noisy at night, but nothing awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastyosty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn in Amarillo for your stay. We are happy to hear that you found your room clean and your stay was pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    127
    91
    48
    31
See reviews for
97
107
52
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This Redroof Inn had more amenities than some high end hotels. Microwave, large fridge, coffee maker etc. It was very clean and new and it was a large room with a desk and arm chair and it was perfect for dogs. We were very happy with our stay here and would definitely stay again.

The only negative was dog feces all over the grass areas.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossCountry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Red Roof Inn in Amarillo, TX. I a happy that you and your pets were comfortable here. We hope that you will return.

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were traveling and needed a cheap place to stay for the night with a breakfast. Beds were adequate for our small family and the breakfast was pretty good. Decent selection and it was good. The person running it was really nice. Perfect price and hotel for a quick sleep. All staff we met were super nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for being a guest at Red Roof Inn in Amarillo, TX. We are so happy that you enjoyed our service. We hope to see you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was so tired after driving all day that I probably could have slept anywhere and been ok. Well, imagine my surprise to be warmly greeted at the front desk by the friendliest person I've ever encountered at 11pm! I was checked in quickly, headed to my room just around the corner, and was pleasantly surprised. The room was quite nice, very clean, with a most comfortable bed. After connecting easily to the free wifi, I checked my email, then had a nice shower (GREAT water pressure) and went to sleep quickly. This place is a great value with nice clean rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ten24ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We're so glad that you decided to stop and stay at the Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We found ourselves in Amarillo by chance. The closure of Carlsbad caverns during the government shutdown, led us to seek an alternative. We went to Palo Duro State park with Amarillo as base. We picked Red roof from a coupon booklet, and we liked what we got. Clean room, good bed and very helpful staff. If ever we get again to Amarillo - we will go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. We are ecstatic that the staff was helpful and that you were happy with your clean room. We hope to see you again soon.

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed while passing through; came here mostly due to positive reviews on TripAdvisor. They also had an ad in a coupon book that said the rooms were "all recently renovated". Our room was definitely NOT renovated; carpet was pretty dirty with cigarette burns in one corner (even though we had a non-smoking room). Bed and pillows were good but towels were awfully thin. Ok for a one-night stay. Staff was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvARoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. I am glad that our staff was professional and made you feel welcome. We continue to do updates and renovations to our rooms and we hope that you will stay with us again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Ringgold, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We checked in and they called the room to make sure everything was ok. I have to say the king size bed was so comfortable. Because we traveled in November it was cold and stormy. When we walked into the room the heat was already on. (It seems the house keeping thought ahead and turned it on for us.) We need extra towels and they gave them to us no extra charge and no hassle. They had a great breakfast laid out the next morning in the lobby area. An check out was easy. I will stay there every time I have to travel through that area. Loved it.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for staying at Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. We are so happy that you loved your stay here with us and will stay with us again. I will let the housekeepers know how much you appreciated their extra effort in making your stay more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 72 in Amarillo
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
399 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#38 of 72 in Amarillo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing