We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down hotel..nice staff, until you have a problem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Run down hotel..nice staff, until you have a problem.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at Red Roof Inn earlier in the year, and despite it being kind of run down, the beds were comfortable, they had free coffee all day, and the staff at the front desk were nice. The wifi was lousy if your room was far away from the office.
My second stay was in mid April. We had sadly lost our precious granddaughter, and had to travel back to Amarillo for her funeral. We needed two rooms the first night because we needed one room for me and my husband, and another for my two teenage boys. Then the next night, we would only need one room, as my husband had to fly back for work, and I was just going to share a room with my boys (it had two queen beds). We were doing this to save money. When we booked the rooms we were VERY clear that we needed two rooms for only one night. The girl helping us book the room seemed very young, and she was obviously in training. She had an older lady helping her and guiding her through the process.
The next morning, while my husband was getting ready to leave for the airport, I moved my belongings to the room that my sons were staying with. A couple of hours later I received a call on my cell phone from the front office. It was the older staff member that had helped the younger girl book our rooms the day before. She rudely asked me why we didn't inform the office that we were going to check out of the room my husband and I stayed in. She said that not only did we not inform them of the checkout, but that we left the do not disturb sign on the door, and so the maids left for the day without cleaning it.
I told her that we absolutely did tell her we were checking out the day before. She then told me that they had already charged our credit card for two nights on both rooms, and that we had signed the paper that said we understood how many nights we were being charged for.
I immediately went to my bank account online, and sure enough, we were charged two nights for the room that we had already checked out of.
I went to the office and asked if they would please refund our money for the one night. The same two women were there from the day before, and so I tried to get them to remember that we had told them multiple times that we didn't need the room for two nights. They both played dumb, and then presented me with the paper that my husband signed, agreeing to two nights.
I asked to talk to the manager, and that is when the real problems started. Right away he treated me like I was a complete burden. He tried to push the blame on me, and was rude and uncooperative. I told him that it was his trainee that had messed up by charging us for two nights. He said that we had not told her we were staying only one night, and that he could prove it because we had signed the paper. I was actually floored at how rude he was to me. He wouldn't listen, was talking over me, and eventually said he was going to call the police to kick us out. All I was trying to do was get a refund for the room. I never raised my voice, never caused a scene. He started raising his voice and threatened to kick us out of the second room.
I have NEVER experienced such terrible customer service. He stomped off to the back room and started yelling in a different language at the young employee that had goofed up in the first place. We could hear him throwing papers around back there, and doing all this as other customers walked into the office.
I had finally had enough. We had just buried our 3 year old granddaughter the day before, and here was this ignorant manager yelling at me. I started to cry, and finally told them that they should be ashamed of themselves. This man was very unprofessional and he had his front desk staff so scared of him that they wouldn't back me up when I asked them to confirm that we had told them multiple times we weren't needing the two rooms for two nights.
I will NEVER stay there again, obviously. They are a management team that cares more about being right and making their money than being professional, polite, and putting the feelings of their customers first.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AmyAdams1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    121
    91
    48
    30
See reviews for
94
103
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Outside appearance on the upper floor was kind of scary, but the room inside was really nice. It looks like they maybe updating? My room had new carpeting, refrig and microwave. Bed was very comfortable. Was very nice and quiet. Very clean. Was close to some restaurants and gas stations. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hspeak15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We got a standard room so we didn't get all the amenities but that is what we wanted. The room was clean and everything seemed to work ok. Staff was pretty nice and got us checked in and out quickly. We did have some internet problems but it was no big deal. If we return to the area, I'll try them again.

Room Tip: away from ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My daughter and I, with dog in tow, stayed at Amarillo, TX, Red Roof Inn in early April 2014. It was awful. The phones didn't work for over two hours and the internet was down for longer. The staff offered to move us to another "more internet connected" room, but we were exhausted and after the first two hours of trying to get on the internet, we called it a night. The location is very unattractive and geared to those who want to get in and get out quickly.

Breakfast was a joke. Same old cereal. The toaster "worked" meaning it was plugged in and could generate heat, but the push down levers were broken making the toaster unusable.

The entire vibe of the place is dark, desperate and in great need of a make-over. Day manager argued with me about my request for a price break stating they offered to move us. She was rude and manipulative calling me "difficult." Well, this customer won't be returning to any Red Roof Inns in the future if a La Quinta is available...and there is...right next door...like a breath of fresh air and clean and bright, too.

Don't, DO NOT go to this hotel if there are any, any other options.

Room Tip: No rooms would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience, and you were disappointed with your stay. The technology not working is certainly frustrating, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Also, I am disheartened that you won't revisit any Red Roof, and hope you will give us a second chance. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Hereford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times. The rooms are clean with basic comforts and amenities, including microwave and fridge. The bed and pillows were comfy and we didn't need to bring our own pillows from home.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Larry who assisted us personally when I mistakenly booked the room for the wrong night - (we arrived "a day earlier" than what I booked). He worked directly with the Expedia to help me change the reservation, get me a fully wheelchair accessible room, and at no additional cost to me. He even allowed me to call Expedia from the motel's phone so I wouldn't have to go back to my car to get my cell phone.

The motel is close to many good places to eat and easily accessible from I-40, especially for travelers going eastbound.

I would definitely recommend this motel and will stay there again this year.

Room Tip: If you have a wheelchair, I suggest getting the non-smoking king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked our staff and all that we had to offer. I hope to see you in the future, and I also appreciate your opinion. Thanks,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I would not stay in another Red Roof Inn. Although the staff was really nice, the room was really dirty...stains on the carpet, staines on the bathroom tile. I don't have many expectations for the price of the room, but at the very minimum I want a clean room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your feedback and we wish this would have been brought to our attention during you stay. We would never allow our guests to remain in a room that doesn't meet high standards of excellence and cleanliness. We have shared this with our staff and we are confident that this would not happen again. we value your business an hope that you will consider us again when traveling thru the Panhandle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The property is a little older (used to be a HowardJohnson), but is in overall good shape. I hear that the owners are currently touching up the rooms. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the tvs' are a bit boxy. . There is a vending/laundry room, which is better than not having one at all! It contains one washer and one dryer, both coin operated, the vending machines lack anything of interest. The parking lot is well maintained, with plenty of safe, lit spaces, there's even a large lot for semi trucks/RVs/moving vans!. The staff here have been nothing but helpful and friendly, especially Kym McWilliams (desk clerk) who checked us in. All in all, its in a safe neighborhood, right off I40, and within walking distance to PLENTY of food joints!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side fill up first. Rooms in the middle of each side seem pretty quiet, just not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I appreciate you staying with us, and I am also happy to know that you enjoyed your experience. I hope to see you again next time, and also thank you so much for letting us know your opinion so that we may improve.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#30 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#43 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing