We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to I-40...standard middle of the road Courtyard property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very standard Courtyard...rooms are comfortable, but I was a little disappointed to see a couple of spare hairs still in the bathroom when I checked in...not spic and span clean at all, but the bed was comfortable and I slept well. Also, for a couple of very early mornings, it was really nice that they had coffee out and ready at 4:30 to 5 in the morning...sure made the wake up easier. Only wish for Courtyards is a free breakfast for platinum status members.

Easy on to I 40 if headed west and a quick turnaround to head back east. Again, very standard courtyard...not the Ritz but not a dump just right in the middle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed here for a few years and now they are updating! This was new only a few years ago. We stay returning from vacation in Colorado & the rooms & staff are always great. I can't believe they are already upgrading the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Although we were told that our room on the 3rd floor was newly remodeled, it was still dirty. There were dirty towels left on the bathtub and hair all over the bathroom floor. The faucet in the bathtub would not turn off. It dripped all night and kept us awake. The light fixtures were dangling from the ceiling in the room. In the morning, the housekeeping staff woke us by speaking Spanish to each other loudly in the hallway. We complained to the manager (Monica Riddle) about all of the above. Her response was a shrug of the shoulders and "I can't do anything about it."

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYAmarillo, Director of Sales at Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are so very sorry for this happening to you. The hotel has recently remodeled the rooms and I suspect that you were put into a room that had not yet been completed. We hate that this happened to you as we are very happy with our new rooms. This should never have happened and I am so very sorry. I also apologize for the front desk not handling the situation for you promtly, there is no excuse for this. I most heartedly apologize and I want to assure you that I am looking into the matter so that it will not happen again. Please accept our apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. This was a very nice property at an excellent rate, and in a great location for a stop on our trip across country. We like Marriott properties as a whole and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifKidRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful - good checkin/out experience. However, I have stayed extensively at Marriott properties, this one was "just ok". Would not likely stay here again though, nothing special, unless I couldn't get a room at another property. The room seemed clean, but the bathtub/shower wouldn't drain properly even after reporting it twice - hence I was standing in ankle deep water during my showers. Limited parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Met my expectations for a mid range hotel. Stayed for one night on a business trip. Service was adequate and the room was clean. It was 109 degrees outside but the room air conditioner kept the room very cool. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivilsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed over the years in many Marriott's and while our Marriott experience has been positive, this place is one of the worst ones we have stayed in. Check-in was unclear with the breakfast option. The room was not only very dowdy, but various lights were not functioning and the worn-out couch had a big hole in the fabric......The hotel elevator (only three levels) was so slow that it was faster to take the stairs at the end of the building. Hotel staff were using the elevator extensively. The room airco wasn't working well, waking us up many times during the night.

The hot tub in the swimming pool was not working; the Market Place had only a few items and in the morning they were trying to charge us $20 for a not-so fancy breakfast that was supposedly included in the room. Our one night bill: over $180.

Room Tip: Forget this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYAmarillo, Director of Sales at Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am very sorry for your less than adequate stay. I know that our hotel can do a much better job of meeting your needs and I am sorry that we dropped the ball on many accounts. I will inform our staff of your review and we will address your issues. Thank for your thoughts and concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo West/Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo
Hilton Garden Inn Amarillo
#26 of 72 in Amarillo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Amarillo
Residence Inn Amarillo
#15 of 72 in Amarillo
212 reviews
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
5.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center

Address: 8006 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-1501
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day with a well-priced breakfast at Courtyard Café, featuring delicious pastries, made-to-order hot items and healthy selections Stay productive at Courtyard Amarillo, TX Hotel: our business center provides a laptop bar, pc and printer for every guest to use FREE The choice among hotels in Amarillo, Courtyard’s spacious rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-fridges and an over-sized work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Amarillo West/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Marriott
Amarillo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing