We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean new motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean new motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

This Hampton appears to be fairly new. Staff was courteous. Only problem with the room was the AC vent or return in the bathroom ... it was very noisy. We closed the bathroom door so the noise wouldn't keep us awake. Had a nice breakfast buffet in the lobby. The motel across the parking lot looked a little rough. A boarded up Krispy Kream is in front of the property which faces interstate 40. Several places to eat within walking distance of the motel. Being back from the interstate probably keeps the place a lot quieter. Would go back again.

  • Liked — New and clean
  • Disliked — Noisy AC vent in bath
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    130
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
144
147
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business trip. The location is great coz it's nearby many restaurants/mall and other businesses. The room itself was nice and clean and above standard Hampton Inn. I will definitely stay at this location again next time. Being a woman who travels a lot, a safe place is important when choosing a hotel. Will come back next time.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Leilani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2007

A standard 2 queen bed room. Quiet at night. Clean with no problems during our stay. We arrived late and stayed one additonal night so we could see the Amarillo Dillas play. There is new krispy kreme in front that has gone out of business. The hotel next door is low cost but the neighborhood was okay. Nice breakfast and pool.
Here is our rate:
Rate Type:
AAA RATE-ID REQUIRED
Rate per night: 80.10 USD

Total for Stay per Room:
Rate 160.20 USD
Taxes 24.03 USD
Total 184.23 USD

Total for Stay: 184.23 USD

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stopped at this property for a one-night stay enroute from New Mexico to Dallas. What a great find!

Check in was quick and our reservation was accurate. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The lobby was immaculate, very large and nicely decorated, and cookies were available for hotel guests.

Our studio suite had an incredibly comfortable king size bed, sleeper sofa, microwave and fridge. The room and bathroom were spotless. Wired internet access was complimentary. Since we were in the mid-point of our road trip, I used the laundry facilities, and am pleased to report that they were well-maintained and clean.

My children loved the indoor pool! The water was just the right temperature, there were plenty of towels, and the pool area was painted with a tropical theme. The room did not have the typical "chlorine" smell that you usually encounter with indoor pool areas.

Breakfast was the usual Hampton Hot breakfast, with a selection of pastries, cereal, fruit, beverages, and eggs/sausage.

I noticed more than one review commenting on the boarded-up Krispy Kreme near the property. Honestly, it did not pose any issue with us. It is very obvious that the store went out of business, and the property, while boarded up, was not in poor repair or vandalized. I would recommend this property for overnight or an extended stay in Amarillo.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Caseyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

I read the other reviews and was a little concerned about the failed donut shop and motel nearby; however, it was not as bad as I had imagined, and that was a relief since my wife would not have been pleased if safety were questionable. Several other going businesses are right there, including a Pizza Hut, Hoffbrau Steakhouse and an Outback Steakhouse. Our room was nice, clean and in fine condition. Fitness center had 2 treadmills and the business center had 2 computers. The front desk called to see if all was OK about 20 minutes after we checked in.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — boarded up motel & donut shop next door
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2007

While driving from Michigan to Las Vegas, NV we picked this hotel last minute without being able to research it. Upon arrival the neighboring hotel property looked a little shady but once inside the Hampton everything was up to our standards. We usually stay at Hampton or Marriott properties so we are familiar with the amenities they offer. Check in was quick and friendly, the room was neat, clean and well stocked with towels, pillows, etc. Breakfast was the standard continental fixings and everything seemed fresh and was ready promptly at 6 a.m. as promised. The business center on the first floor was nicely appointed with two computers. There is a Pizza Hut/ Wing Street, Outback and Brewhaus all within walking distance. We drove down the road a few miles to a Mexican restaurant called Nachos. Overall the food, drinks and service were very good. My husband had the grilled Tilapia and the manager offered to make vegetarian refried beans for my tostada since I am vegetarian. They seemed to go out of their way to make sure we enjoyed the meal.

  • Liked — Closeness to expressway
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RickerSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2006

My husband and I stopped here on our way back to Colorado. Location is great as it is right off the highway but back a bit so we didn't hear highway noise. Yes, the Krispy Creme in front is boarded up and is an eyesore. Hopefully, they will do something with that building. The location is great if you are heading west as this hotel is on the western edge of the city. There is a mall, movie theater and restaurants nearby. (Not walking distance but a short drive.)

Our room was great. Very clean and ample space for the two of us. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast in the morning is an added bonus. Some of the items available are warm and not sweet. (Often, the free breakfast provided by a hotel only contains sweet items.) Yes, as someone in another review noted, the items have been frozen but I don't think you can expect a home cooked breakfast.

Overall, if you need a stopover in Amarillo, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Tips/Secrets — Drive the short distance to eat at Ruby Tequila's restaurant.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing