We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have stayed at a great many Hampton Inns and have rarely been dissatisfied in any serious way. Our room was pleasant enough, but the a/c did not work, even though there was an adjustable thermostat in the room. My husband then discovered that the thermostat was simply a decoration, not connected to anything! Luckily, the weather was reasonably cool, so we didn't suffer...The breakfast was ok and the front desk person was helpful when we asked questions about Amarillo, but not about the a/c issue. I agree with others that the surrounding area is not particularly pleasant and certainly has a deserted feeling about it. I would not choose to stay here again, as there are many alternatives on the West side.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here once before and it was ok but they were doing renovation. When we came back we had 2 reservations but my grandma and grandpa had to stay at the Fairfield inn courtesy of the Hampton inn because there reservations where messed up. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel needs to be renovated. Tub was worn and moldy. The sofa in my suite was severely stained. I stayed here because my first and second choices had no rooms available. Booked room for three nights, but checked out after one night. Location didn't feel safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingman0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

About what you would expect from a Hampton Inn - comfortable, roomy and clean. The room was standard - two queen beds and a separate bathroom. Pretty fast connection to the net, and a standard selection of cable channels.
I don't know when the last update was completed at the hotel, but it is starting to show some age. In addition, half of the lights spelling "Hampton Inn" that can be seen from I-40 are burnt out. Though neither of these previous comments caused an uncomfortable stay, if Hilton wants to keep its reputation up, it should pay attention to these details.
Cookies on arrival and a good warm breakfast. Easy on and off to I-40, though not right on the freeway.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfairborne2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I booked based on reviews and location. I just needed a place to rest for the night. When I checked in there was a little confusion, as they had me already checked in. Once that was sorted, I was upgrade to the suit. The suit was clean, well appointed, and comfortable The hotel staff were very helpful getting everything sorted out.

The only fault I found was with the building itself. I was on the third floor. The floors seem to be very thin as I could every footstep in the hall outside the room. In my room I felt sorry for the people in the room below as even something like dropping my phone on the floor sounded like a great big thud.

Overall, not bad but if you are a light sleeper, you may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would choose to stop omn the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hampton is one of my preferred choices when on the road, but this one was subpar. Although my reservation was made weeks in advance, my room choice was not provided. Instead, the room I received would not connect to the internet ... my room was changed, but this new one was missing the wall-mounted thermostat. The major let down, though, was the breakfast. This is usually a great way to start the day, but not here. Poorly maintained. The desk person who signed us in was very pleasant and eager to help, but she was the ONLY staff person in the building. She was really overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Checkin/checkout was excesmooth and easyllent, hotel is aging but very acceptable a little noisy from some late revellers but that is to be expected and would not deter us from staying again, local dining info very good. All staff we spoke to were more than helpful. Only complaint poorlpoor directions when travelling Hwy 40 West

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
4.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing