We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and Beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Bulverde, Texas
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Amarillo was by far the best ever. We found the staff - all of them - to be friendly, courteous and full of knowledge about the places to see in and around Amarillo. We were there for 3 nights and were greeted like a good friend each morning and on our return at the end of the day. We will definitely return to this location again and recommend it to everyone we know who might be going there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Amarillo. Our goal is to make every guest feel at home and to make sure we share the best our city has to offer with everyone. Amarillo is much more than a “stop-over” town on I-40. From Palo Duro Canyon to the American Quarter Horse Museum to the Don Harrington Discovery Center, we have something for everyone. I encourage all of our guests to give us a call and let us help you plan your next stay in Amarillo! and see why Hamptonality is bigger in TEXAS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    133
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
147
147
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet. They have recently renovated the rooms. It is Non-smoking so that's a plus. The pool was a little chilly, but my son and I swam anyway. The breakfast was pretty good and the service was friendly. We would stay here again. It's a good place to stop over on your way to or from Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank CLPfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I will speak to maintenance about the pool temperature. There are many more renovations coming this winter. We hope to see you again, so you can see how we are continuing to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schertz, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is an outstanding place to stay while passing through or staying in Amarillo. It's clean, comfortable, and has a friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. The next time we're in Amarillo this will be our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Miron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We have a great staff! We are in the process of making improvements to the hotels physical property and look forward to sharing the new additions with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Check out Hampton Inn Amarillo - reasonably priced, well maintained with great customer service. In room internet service, even the covers on the bed are washed after every stay, and easy access back to I-40. The breakfast selections include make your own waffles, the usual scrambled eggs, toast and bacon. We've stayed at several other places along I-40 and think this is the best of the options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to be your hotel of choice in Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We should have been staying here for two nights which were booked through Expedia in January, when the hotel was operating under its former name, The Amarillo Inn. Due to some sort of breakdown in communication between Expedia and the hotel's new management, when we arrived there was no record of our reservation and the hotel was full! It quickly became apparent that finding alternative acccomodation, late on Saturday night was not going to be easy. Calls to Expedia both in the U.K. and the U.S.A. proved fruitless. A call to the hotel manager(away on a business meeting) produced an entirely different response. A room in the process of being redecorated after a water leak was made available to us at no charge! The room may have been in the process of redecoration but it was still of a high standard and extremely comfortable. We would like to thank the hotel manager and Candiss at the front desk for everything that they did to solve what could have been a very difficult situation for us. Needless to say, if we are ever in Amarillo we will stop here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your Expedia reservation; however we are glad we were able to accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Only 20,000 points - instead of a whopping $144 a night. I've stayed here before and never recall it being anywhere near this expensive. It is a good Hampton Inn, but for that price candidly I would not return to pay that rate - you'd get a Hilton Garden Inn, Homewood Suites, Hilton, Embassy Suites, etc. Maybe some special event was ongoing, but still, that seems to be less of an equitable reason to increase the rates. We were just passing through - and discovered on our return that Amarillo has few rooms and no good way to parcel them out. We hit the internet, the phones, and the road and it took 2 hours - and got no help from the Hilton Family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank HollywoodHoffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review for the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. Our rates vary by seasonal demand (high demand in the summer and lower demand in the winter). Rates may also be affected by events taking place in Amarillo. We do offer discounted rates to travelers with AARP and AAA. There is also an Advanced Purchase rate available through our Hampton.com website. Advanced Purchase reservations must be made a minimum of 7 days in advance of the stay and paid for at the time of reservation. Advanced purchase reservations can save our guests up to 20% off the regular rate. Hilton Honors members also have an option of paying part of their stay with points and part with money. Our rates are competitive with the Amarillo market. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are continually improving our hotel based on our guest’s feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayetteville, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I requested and confirmed 2 beds with handicap accessible room, by the time i checked inn the room was not available. The staff most likely had given it to somebody else by time we got there. It was a miserable night, because I have to sleep in the floor along with my son.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I will be researching your issue ad taking corrective action to make sure this issue is resolved and does not occur again in the future. If you would like to discuss this issue, you may contact me at the hotel. Again, I apologize for the issue you had with your reservation. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make your next stay a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing