We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Sign In Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New Sign In Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

During reviews of my previous stays I mentioned that you had to look hard to see the small sign but no more. When I stayed this time I was pleased to see the large, standard-sized sign up high and very visible.

The hotel was typical Hampton (that's better than average for interstate hotels). There was a different lady helping at breakfast and she was friendly, engaging and helpful.

I will agree with another reviewer who mentioned the cattle feed lot odor. This was the first time I have noticed it but it was definitely strong. There's nothing the hotel can do about that but just be aware. The feed lot is MILES away but if the wind is from the west, I guess it's not far enough away. There was NO odor inside the hotel; - just in the parking lot.

I have stayed here a few times and can recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Our new sign is just one of many changes coming to the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. We will be starting renovations soon and look forward to the positive changes we will be making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    133
    60
    29
    19
See reviews for
147
152
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This property was up to par by usual Hilton stays, but when you go outside, the smell of fresh cattle crap is everywhere. and I mean string. Evidently the smell comes from Hereford, TX which is a small town to the west that is a huge cattle feed lot. One would think that you would place a property on the East end of town or somewhere with a wind break, but I guess not. The property was ok, price was good and the staff was friendly. Good parking and nearby to the better places to eat in town. But everywhere you go in the West side of town makes any other good experience with a restaurant or hotel meaningless because you want to barf when going outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikeamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We apologize for the cattle odor you noted in your review. As the locals call it, “the smell of money” is an issue sometimes in Amarillo. We do hope we can accommodate you the next time you are travelling through Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Needs better check in services for hhonors members so we do not have to go through all the stresses. I mean you could have pre paod services at least for the hhonors members. Reason being is yes we do get better incentives but do we really get better service like you present it as.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West. I apologize you were not pleased with our HHonors check in. We try to have the keys ready for our Hilton Honors members in order to expedite the process, however we cannot physically check in a reservation until a guest is present. This allows us to make sure our guests have the credit card they wish to be charged on file. It also gives us the opportunity to make sure your reservation was booked correctly and we are accommodating all of your needs. I will brain storm with our management team to try to develop a quicker check in process for our HHonors members. We value your opinion as one of our most important guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Staff was professional and helpful. Everything was clean and well appointed. We particularly liked the complimentary breakfast and the personable and very helpful lady that tended to the breakfast. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West. I will relay your comments to our staff, including our breakfast hostess Sherry. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel lobby was very nice, the staff was very friendly, and the hotel was located near the hospital and highway which made it easily accessible to restaurants and the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amarillo on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. We are happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are continuing to improve our hotel and will begin renovations on our guest rooms and public areas soon. We hope you will stay again so you can see our dedication to providing the best stay in Amarillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This Hampton Inn is a little difficult to find. It's located off I-40 and situated behind another hotel and restaurant. Look for the sign from the frontage road and proceed down the driveway to get there. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. A short time after arriving in our room, Candiss from the front desk called to be sure everything was satisfactory and asked if there was anything else she could do to make our stay more comfortable. The only downside to our room was the upholstery on the easy chair was worn/torn and needs to be replaced soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hampton Inn & suites Amarillo. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I want to let you know we will be replacing all the soft seating in the guest rooms soon. Starting the 4th quarter of this year we will be renovating the hotel. Renovations include the indoor pool, fitness center, meeting room, and Guest rooms (bathroom, entry, carpet, soft seating, window and wall treatments). These renovations will be complete by the end of the first quarter 2014. We hope you will return to Amarillo to see the exciting improvements we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel was extremely clean and very welcoming. We were traveling with 4 grandsons (6-14) and the complimentary breakfast was an exceptional value. Make your own waffles - something for everyone. Location was good - lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoLclynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in offering our guests clean, comfortable accommodations at a great value. Our breakfast has a great variety, including a hot egg and meat item daily, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, including oatmeal with a variety of toppings, and coming soon, a local favorite, Donut Stop donuts! I will make sure to let our housekeeping team know you appreciated the hard work they put in daily to make sure the hotel is clean. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 I-40 West, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing